Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
EXCELLENT!! Made this as stated and the best seasoning we have had.... majorly beats the packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The entire family said NO MORE PACKAGED SEASONING. They absolutly loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is a great seasoning to have on hand. I use it for fajitas as well as tacos. We like it better than the packaged kind. Those family members who prefer their seasoning a bit hotter just add hot pepper sauce to their individual tacos till their tongues smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I've used this recipe several times as I always have the ingredients on hand. It comes close to the taste of TB but it will be the sauce or salsa that you may choose to use that will bring the overall taste very close. My son is the TB lover in our house and this satisfies him when he's wanting to go there but I am not. We've used it for tacos & taco salads; still need to give "enchiritos" a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Better than a packaged mix, but it's not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
To get that "popular fast-food taco restaurant" texture to the ground meat(being beef, turkey or whatever). Just add water before cooking to the crumbled meat and stir well and frequently as it browns. This helps the meat separate. You can drain the excess fat of when the water has cooked out of it, but I do not recommend rinsing it. Add more water before adding the seasoning if needed. I, personally, just add the seasoning once the meat starts browning and just let the water cook out. You will end up with that crumbly texture that I just love about that certain, unnamed taco place. This works with those little packets too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Wow, this was just what I was looking for. Very flavorful. I used it to make some old fashioned nachos and it was a hit with my hubby & me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very, very good. I don't need to look anywhere else for another recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really yummy and it doesn't have the powdery taste that you get with the packets. I made it in the morning and kept in in the crock pot on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States