Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as is and the roast turned out perfectly. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is the BEST recipe for Prime Rib!!!! 3 years ago on Christmas Eve I tried a Prime Rib. It was horrible!!! It cooked for over 6 hours and still wasn't done!! I vowed never to do one again, too much money lost on that meal. Then I came across this recipe. I tried it this evening and it was absolutely PERFECT!!!! I followed the recipe to a "T" for a 8.39 lb Prime Rib Roast (4 ribs). The only thing that happened was the flour got on the bottom of the pan and smoked us out a bit, but I left the door open and some fans going. Otherwise it was amazing. It cooked in just under 2 hours. I took it out and let it rest for almost 45 minutes. There were well done pieces on the ends for my sister in law and myself, and medium rare in the center for my parents. Everyone was thrilled with how delicious it actually was!!! Thank you Barbara for this amazing recipe. Please, stop the bickering and try this recipe. It is so worth the little bit of effort to make. I will DEFINATELY be making Prime Rib every Christmas Eve thanks to this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great way to make Prime Rib. I cooked it just like Barbara said too, but based on other reviewers I cut the time down to 15 min a pound. Not quite long enough. I wanted Med/Rare, and got rare. Next time I will go for 17/18 min. a pound. I also didn't let it sit long enough with the foil cover, but that was my son's fault. He had to leave so I had to move up the standing time. Again, all my own fault. It was the juiciest Rib Roast ever. Thanks for all the years coming up with this Barbara. It's now my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Like most of the time I use allrecipes, I use a variety of techniques from several recipes. Some parts of this recipe are crucial to making an excellent, fool proof prime rib. First is letting the meat come to room temperature (although I personally would not let it sit for 3 horus). Second is using the flour and spice mixture after patting it dry. Third is searing the roast in a very hot oven (I did 500 degrees for 15 minutes). I then turned my heat down to 350 for 15-20 minutes a lb. I did a 7 lb roast that turned out perfectly. There was barely any juice in the pan, which means it all stayed in the roast. A very helpful recipe, which is why I gave it 5 stars although I did not follow it to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Yes. I finally found out how to bake a prime rib. Worked as described. Put it on a rack in the roasting pan and all was fine. I see also need to let sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This turned out well for us. I was nervous about cooking a $40 piece of meat. I followed the directions exactly. The only problem was that our roast got a little overcooked. I calculated it at 140 minutes, since our roast was 7 lbs, and even took it out 20 minutes early when the meat thermometer said 125. It sat for maybe 20 min before we cut it and ended up being more of a medium well - mostly brown with a pink center. Not the medium rare we were going for, but delicious nonetheless. We had it with horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
If you read and understand the directions you will get it right,I followed it to a T and it turned out perfect. the only bad reviews is because YOU screwed it up not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefterry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Best Prime rib in a while. I took it out at 125 degrees. Need 6 hour total for recipe for a 8 lb rib roast. Reccomend letting it sit wrapped in foil for 1.5 hours after removal from oven. Will finish cooking on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Flavor was perfect!! One suggestion - don't count on the timing for doneness - instead use a thermometer to test!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe precisely. I used a meat thermometer and removed the roast at 125 degrees, F. It was superb! Ends were med/well and center was rare. I would recommend this one time & time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierrepont Manor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States