Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good. I am not the best at making the perfect "roast" but this came out just like the one at our favorite restaurant. Will be making this again. Thank you Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Similar to another reviewer, I had a very small roast - 1.5 pounds. I followed the directions as closely as possible but adding a little more garlic - to suit my taste. I roasted for 30 minutes. The meat was on the rare side but tender and delicious. My DH loves rare beef and he loved it - enough said! Thanks Barbara for a great recipe. For the rest of you, don't leave negative feedback unless you have actually tried this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Look no further folks !! I had a small prime rib ( 3 lbs) and using the 20 minute/ lb suggestion it was perfection. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this Prime Rib Roast for our entire family for Christmas Eve 2010. My son in law has not stopped talking about how great it was, and he's a beef man! He's getting it again, July, for a special treat and I'm not going to change a thing! It's the best prime rib ever, even better than Lawry's in Beverly Hills. It's a WOWOWWWWOWWWWW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I prepared a 15lb Prime Rib Roast for Mother's Day. It took just over 2 hours to cook fully. I recieved rave reviews from everyone! The meat was tender and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
First time making prime rib. Next time I would do what the other half of the cooking population uses for the outside. Pepper and garlic. The cooking time for this particular receipe was very confusing. The written part says to bake for like 5 hours while the top says something like 2 hours. I noticed that after it was at the high temperature for 1 hour 30 minutes. At that time I turned it down to 225 degrees for the remaining 3 hours. I had a 10 pound chunck of meat and the timing worked out good. The meat was medium. I suggest reading the prime rib article to the left side of the page for cooking suggestions. My husband can't wait for me to try prime rib again. Thank you for sharing. I never thought I could make this at home. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
After reading the reviews, I cooked my 8.5 pounds roast at 425 for an hour and a half and 375 for another hour. The roast was delicious (although I thought it could have used just a tad more salt) with a nice mixture of medium well for those who preferred it and medium for me. The only changes I will make next time is to add more salt and perhaps use fresh garlic. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This roast tasted great, and I like the flour/spice rub. HOWEVER, something was wrong with the timing. I had 4lbs of meat, and roasted it for just over 90 minutes. Meat thermometer said 135 degrees. Let it rest for 30 minutes, as instructed. Unfortunately, when we tried to slice it for Easter dinner, it was so rare it was still bleeding. We had to finish it off in the crock pot and save it for the next day. According to my meat thermometer, you need to roast to an internal temp. of 160 degrees for medium. I wish I'd known that ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I followed the directions exact and it was wonderful. I cooked a 11# and I never seen meat so tender. Triple a+ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Loved it! I cooked a much smaller roast -- 4.5 lbs. -- and just adjusted the cooking time. I also used minced fresh garlic, instead of garlic powder, and that made it even better. The end cuts were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States