Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
WATCH the TIME! My first time with prime rib. I had a 16lb prime roast. Brought it to room temp for 3 hours. I covered it with the exact seasonings listed adding chopped garlic. Covered it and roasted 15 min at 425, then reduced heat to 325 (using oven thermom) at the 3hr mark, I checked the roast with a thermometer and it was 150 already. too done for me. I let it set out tented for almost and hour because it was done too early. Rave reviews from guests but not what i like which is med rare. next time I will check at 2.5 hrs. good flavor and very tender, just too done for me.Update: roast uncovered. This years roast 13.5 lb took 1.5 hr to get to 120 deg...with additional .5 hr on counter tented with foil...perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so good and tender. Thanks BarbaraC28 for this recipe!! I think you can add any extra seasonings that you like. I did cook it at 15 min/lb. The taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was delicious and easy!! My teenager, who isn't all that fond of prime rib, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made my first prime rib following this recipe to the letter, and it turned out great! I cooked it in my convection oven, which shortened the cook time by about half. I cooked it at 20 minutes per pound, the first 30 minutes @ 425 and lowered the temp to 350 for the duration of the cook time. I took it out with an internal temp of 125, which rose about 10 degrees during resting. It was perfectly medium/medium rare. Highly recommend this recipe, it's easy and the results are great. Quite reassuring results for first-timers with an expensive roast. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by canner
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Just made one 13 pound and one 4 pound for a work gathering; amazing recipe - for 13 people there was only a small amount left to have a couple of sandwichs. I modified by placing slivers of garlic clove all along the tops and added herbes de provence to the flour mixture. I also adjusted time and temp down for the 4 pounder - using the adage, after searing them both for 15 minutes at 425 F, of 12-14 minutes per pound for rare. They were juicy, rare and the taste was terrific. The meat was juicy and I kept resisting the temptation to baste - excellent advice. Between the time they were covered - in the original roasters - and driven to the party (15 minutes in 15 degree weather!) they were perfect temperature and like butter to cut. Use a meat thermometer! The recipe can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
good tender better than steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used this recipe for a boneless prime rib roast and it was perfectly done. Cooked it for 20 minutes per pound at 425F and put some water in the pan and had nice juices for gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this last night and it was wonderful. The roast came out so tender and moist. When it comes time to make prime rib, this is the recipe I will turn to. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Loved the recipe, had never cooked prime rib before & it turned out perfect. I would definitely use this one next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this recipe on Sunday to celebrate my uncle's birthday. It was fantastic! I cooked it for 15 minutes per pound. As good as a fine restaurant would serve. It made my proud. We had merlot with it, wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States