Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was the first time I made Prime Rib. Everyone loved it. I always feel that good meat doesn't need a whole lot of seasoning so this recipe appealed to me. My roast was only about 4 pounds. I cooked it on 350 for the first 1.5 hours and for the last hour on 425. The people I cooked for do not like medium rare. . . so I had to over cook it some. My only downfall that It was not tender enough. . which was my fault. I did not let it sit long enough before I cut it. I was in a hurry to eat! Also, because of time restraints I had to cook it faster than I wanted to. Overall, This recipe was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Great recipe! Best prime rib EVER don't change a thing, just follow the cooking instructions and it will be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
made this roast for xmas - the people who like their meat medium loved it - too bad there were more medium rare at my table. 425' way too high at 20 minutes per pound for medium rare.... need to both lower temp and shorten cooking time as others suggested - otherwise worked well and will try again at lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
It was a disaster!!! It was well-done in half the time it was supposed to be. It was a fourteen pound roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this true to the recipe. My roast was a 5 lb rib roast with 3 ribs. I cooked it per instructions, 20 minutes per pound and my roast was done medium. I suggest you check your oven temperature and cook accordingly as many ovens differ. The spice mixture was perfect and I would not change a thing. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
It was easy to make and the meat was flavorful but I did overcook a bit. I think the temp needs to be a little lower. Had a 10# roast and it was done in 2 1/2 hours. I had to keep adding beef broth to the pan becaue it was smoking a little. It sat out for about an hour and got too done while I was waiting on the side dishes. I will try again but not exactly what I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
We made an 8lb. roast, following this recipe. It was delicious! Not overcooked at all. I thought it was awesome that no juices escaped the meat, it was juicy and delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe, we will be using it over and over I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This prime rib flavor was delicious. I would recommend cutting the cooking time down to 3 hrs tops, i cooked mine for 3:45 and it was cooked all the way through. I also cut slits in the prime rib and put in chunks of garlic before covering with the flour mixture. How I made the au jus, was I bought 3 cans of campbells au jus and pour over the prime rib was cooking it, half a can at a time. Place the first can on the bottom of the pan. Family raved about the flavor and the au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Oh my goodness, this recipe is wonderful! I've never put a rub on prime rib before and was a little bit nervous about doing it, but I am so happy I did. My husband just raved about the flavor and how juicy it was. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
As Easy As It Gets! This recipe was exceptional for flavor and ease of preparation. I purchased a 10# boneless roast and at 425 it was baked to a temperature of 120 in 2.25 hours. I will definitely make this again, but I think this time, I will lower the temperature as the meat was not as tender as when I have prepared it at a lower temperature for a longer period of time. The coating is outstanding - exactly like a fine restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States