Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Because of all of people’s issues with the meat getting overdone, we bought a digital thermometer that stays in the meat and has an alarm when either the time or temperature reached a certain point. It was well worth the 20 dollars. The time was shorter than we had estimated but it didn't matter because once we reached the right temp, the alarm went off and we took it out. Was super tasty and had no jus because it was inside the meat. Felt like professionals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I used the ingredients listed and cooked for 15 minutes per pound. Covered with foil and rested for 45 minutes and it turned out to be a perfect medium rare. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Only thing I changed were some of the spices in the flour (I used horseradish, sea salt, paprika, and rosemary). It was awesome!!!! Mine was 4.5 lbs and I took it out once it got to 138 degrees (it took about an hour or so) and covered it for 20 min. It was still warm and the perfect med-rare. The outside coating was delish!! I served it with horseradish sauce. I used aluminum on the bottom of my roasting pan and had no issues with smoke as others have said. Will be trying this with leg of lamb on Easter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner this year and it worked very well. Mom is an awful cook, she will admit it. I learned this from her years ago and have used this technique on rump roasts and whole pork loins. Who knew she had a great trick in this! Juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the directions to the tee and it came out perfectly. Definitely resonate the point about letting the roast reach room temp. Raising it from the bottom of the roast pan was another excellent tip. Color was nice, just enough spice for true meat lovers. By far the most juicy roast I've ever made. Big hit with family. Don't understand what the fuss was over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this with a 5 pound roast and it turned out amazing!! I let it sit wrapped up in foil for and hour like the recipe said and it was still nice and warm when it was served. Great recipe! I would do this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
For the past 20+ years I have prepared prime rib almost every Christmas eve for our family. In the past I have sprinkled garlic salt on top and just roasted it at 350 degrees. This year I decided to try something new and found this recipe. I tried it and it was excellent. There was no drippings on the bottom of the pan, just fat. It was moist, fork tender, and delicious. My entire family loved it. The only problem I had was that I cooked a 14 pound roast at 425 degrees and it was at 120 degrees in 2 1/2 hours. Even though it rested more than 2 hours, it was perfect. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe today n our roast turned out perfect . We like to eat our rib roast rare. The only thing I did different was I cooked the rib roast at the suggested temp for one hour. After it had a nice crust I turned the temp down to. 350. It was perfect n the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have to admit, I used this recipe for the spices. Which on a roast isnt that overly complicated to start with. Makes a great outside coating. I get my thawed roast out of fridge about 3hours before cooking time and let it warm up. Then I poke it with a serving fork several times and coat it with olive oil. Then I rub the spices in. The 1st 30minutes are at 425 then another 45 at 350. Then I turn the oven off and let it cook on its own for 2hours or so. Then about 90minutes before chow time, I turn the oven back on and put the meat thermometer in it. I like mine to be about 145ish when I take it out. Let it sit for 20-30 minutes before slicing. Ends are usually Medium Well. From the 2nd slice on in, Perfect Medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coachtom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Like others, I was a bit nervous about the cooking temp. But, again like others, I was thrilled with the outcome. My only modification to the roast rub was replacing the celery seed with 1 tsp powdered mustard. Just a personal preference. I'm very appreciative of this recipe's author. We had an awesome Christmas Eve dinner thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States