Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BarbaraC28
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made a prime rib roast that weighed 9 pounds ( it was a 3 rib roast) As per these exact directions. I just wanted to make sure that I properly explained it. It came out great. It did not burn in the slightest. The seasoned flour that gets rubbed in seals the meat and crisps the fat on the top and bottom. I even used a rack to lift the roast off the pan, so that the under side would be roasted nicely. This procedure works like a wood fired oven . It seals the juices in while crisping up the fat . You will notice in the roasting pan after you pull it out from the oven that the only thing in there is the rendered fat that came off the top and bottom. There will be no beef juices. When You coat the roast in flour dont be afraid to really coat and press down the flour in to all of the meat as well as the fat. This coating will protect all those wonderful juices.This is how you get prime rib at all those great steak resturants.You can vary the spices in the flour mix last night I used herbs de provence. as well as salt and freshly ground white pepper. It cooked at 15 mins. a lb as instructed. and after taking it out at 120 and letting it rest it was 140 after about 30 mins of resting with a linen towel . So please give this recipe a try before you give a review. It took quite a few years and quite a few roasts to develop this manner of cooking this exact roast. You will be pleasently surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1027 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbaraC28

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Millbrook, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Okay I needed to cook a prime rib steak and saw the arguement here over this recipe so decided to try it and figure out who is correct. The results were wonderful and I followed the recipe exactly. The temperature of 425 degrees turned out to be perfect. I let the meat come to room temperature, I seasoned the meat as suggested, and put it into a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes. Now this is important, I was cooking one pound of prime rib, so I used only 15 minutes to cook it perfectly. The recipe is for 12 servings so while I assume that it is correct I can only attest to the one pound for one serving experience. And the results were as good as any restuarant. Which is particularly amazing because frankly I have always wondered how they were able to get the meat fully cooked in a restaurant without drying it out. And now I know. Thanks to the reviewers who persisted in insisting that the recipe was correct and to the woman who origionally posted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I tried this recipe for my niece's graduation party. I cooked a 12 lb. prime rib at 425 for 15 minutes per pound. I planned on taking the "medium rare" roast out, cutting it in half, and putting half of it back in the oven, in order to have a "medium well" roast and a "medium rare" roast, so my guests could have their choice. However, when I removed the roast after 3 hours, it was "medium well." My guests had no choice between "medium rare" or "medium well." I was disappointed, but the roast was still a success. The flour mixture sealed all the juices in the meat, so even though it was cooked "medium well," it was still juicy and delicious. Today I am going to use the same recipe on an 8 lb. roast for Father's Day. I will cook it at 425 for 15 minutes per lb. because my immediate family likes "medium well." If anyone wants a "medium rare" roast, I have to agree with the other reviews, use a lower temperature. But if you like "medium well," this is GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
425 deg. is way too hot to roast at 20 minutes per pound. It is fine for an initial 15 to 20 minutes, but the oven temp should then be turned down to somewhere around 350 deg for the duration of the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I am online to look over recipes for the Prime Rib Roast of the meat butchered. Barb, thank you for elaborating more on your directions. The rest of you did nothing to mention how the meat was when you tried Barb's instructions, so I can only assume you did not. The butcher's instructions on my 6 + roast states: Preheat and cook 30 min in a 400 degree oven, then 20 minutes per pound at 350 degrees. The butcher states that medium rare is 130 degrees internal. If the roast is over 10 lbs to cut time down to 15 min. per pound. Perhaps different locations (humidity, arrid and altitude) makes differences on exacts? I do not like to read argumentive reviews, I like facts of what occurred when YOU tried someones recipes - matter of fact and respectfully. I am sure I am not alone. I will take seriously anyone's review that sounds like they are not playing nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Great recipe and excellent au jus! But I would recommend adjusting the ingredients to the size of the roast. I had a 9-pound roast and followed the recipe accordingly (for a 14-pound roast) and had LOTS of ingredients left over. Another word of advice with this recipe: be sure to add at least a cup of water every hour and baste the roast every half-hour. I didn't do this at first and the drippings burned and smoked until I added water. Adding water also adds more gravy for extra flavor. A definite must recipe for prime rib lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I tried this recipe out for my mom's birthday and it turned out fantastic. I looked over a lot of different recipes before settling on this one and I'm really glad I did. I made a 12 pound rib and everyone said it was better than the restaurant. However, that could be because they didn't need to pay for it. Anyway, one really, really helpful item that people reading this review might want to pick up is a meat thermometer. I used an electronic one and took the roast out when it was about 125 - 130 degrees. The amount of time it spent outside the oven (uncut) cooked it the rest of the way. Overall I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Roast should be cooked at 200-250 degrees F. then seared at the end at 500 for 20 minutes. meat should be removed from the oven at 125F and rested for 20 minutes. the temp will rise about 10 degrees and you will have a lovely even red warm roast that is extremely tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
very good recipe, my roast got so many compliments, 'better than restaurant'. first prime rib roast I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The temperature for roasting should not exceed 350 degrees. Also Rare is 140F Med is 150F and Well done is 160 F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States