Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I changed the cooking temp as well to 325 for 3 hours for a 15 lb prime rib and then I lowered it to 250 for the last hour or so for a perfectly medium rare prime rib. Everyone is still complementing on how amazing it was and I was very impressed considering this was my first time to prepare it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
had a 5.5 lb roast. Cooked according to directions. So tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Amazing recipe. I made this exactly as the recipe said and got rave reviews! Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner this year. It was the easiest and by far the BEST prime rib I have every had. The meat was so juicy and tender; I was able to cut it with my fork. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut slits into the rib roast and insert garlic cloves into the slits. I removed the roast after 2 hours of baking. The internal temperature was 145 and raised to 155 after resting. The middle of the 8 lb roast was cooked to medium, with the end cut just barely at medium well to well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly - beef was too well done. Also kitchen smelled like fat roasting for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for the 1st tinme on Christmas. I follow the ingredients for this roast even though mine was 8lbs. I put it in the oven at 500 degrees for 30 minutes like the butcher told me and then reduced it down to 375 for 90 minutes. It was pink in the center at 160 degrees. It was perfect. Everyone loved it like I have made it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We've tried several rib recipes from this site and this was by far the best. I put the flour mixture into an old spice container and shook the coating on. Within a half hour the whole house smelled delicious. This will remain my go to roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
check the time. rub is fabulous. my mother in law was always in charge of the roast, never a mistake, but i never watched her. she is no longer with us, so i made the roast on christmas eve, didn't check until it was to late. we checked at 3 hours and was already at 133 degrees, took out and let rest for 30 min. way to done. we like ours rare to med rare. it basically ruined my evening and cost me $165. the barn kitties are really enjoying the feast. i remember her putting the therm. in about hour and a half into the roast and monitoring often.i have another roast in the ref.and am trying again this week, i am going to figure this out for perfect rare roast.the rub is the best,even better than hers. it was very pretty, just very done. i am going to figure this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am not sure where these cooking times come from but I cooked an 18 pound prime rib for 3 hours anc checked the temp and it was already well done!! Way too much temp. (425) and way too much time 4 and 1/2 hours for 14 pounder??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe except for the oven temperature. After 30 min. I lowered the temp to 350 for 3 hours. I took the roast out, covered with foil and had to let it sit for 1 hour waiting for the rest of the food. The roast was delicious and perfect. The difference for me was the flour coating. It sealed in the juices and made the roast look great. There was a wonderful crisp coating to the edge of the meat. For an expensive cut of meat I was so nervous but it couldn't have been any better. Served with a wonderful horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States