Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly - beef was too well done. Also kitchen smelled like fat roasting for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for the 1st tinme on Christmas. I follow the ingredients for this roast even though mine was 8lbs. I put it in the oven at 500 degrees for 30 minutes like the butcher told me and then reduced it down to 375 for 90 minutes. It was pink in the center at 160 degrees. It was perfect. Everyone loved it like I have made it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We've tried several rib recipes from this site and this was by far the best. I put the flour mixture into an old spice container and shook the coating on. Within a half hour the whole house smelled delicious. This will remain my go to roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
check the time. rub is fabulous. my mother in law was always in charge of the roast, never a mistake, but i never watched her. she is no longer with us, so i made the roast on christmas eve, didn't check until it was to late. we checked at 3 hours and was already at 133 degrees, took out and let rest for 30 min. way to done. we like ours rare to med rare. it basically ruined my evening and cost me $165. the barn kitties are really enjoying the feast. i remember her putting the therm. in about hour and a half into the roast and monitoring often.i have another roast in the ref.and am trying again this week, i am going to figure this out for perfect rare roast.the rub is the best,even better than hers. it was very pretty, just very done. i am going to figure this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am not sure where these cooking times come from but I cooked an 18 pound prime rib for 3 hours anc checked the temp and it was already well done!! Way too much temp. (425) and way too much time 4 and 1/2 hours for 14 pounder??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe except for the oven temperature. After 30 min. I lowered the temp to 350 for 3 hours. I took the roast out, covered with foil and had to let it sit for 1 hour waiting for the rest of the food. The roast was delicious and perfect. The difference for me was the flour coating. It sealed in the juices and made the roast look great. There was a wonderful crisp coating to the edge of the meat. For an expensive cut of meat I was so nervous but it couldn't have been any better. Served with a wonderful horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe! I followed this exactly and it came out perfect! We had a 4.2 lb roast, we cooked it for a little over an hour and let it set for 45 minutes or so. We do not like it very rare and this came out perfect! As the original poster stated, this roast loses none of it's juices so there is nothing left for au jus. I used a store-bought packet and substituted 1/2 cup of the water for port wine. I also added a couple of tablespoons of fat from the roasting pan for added flavor. The au jus turned out fantastic. I will definitely be making this prime rib again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Our prime rib turned out perfectly following this recipe. I was leary of the 425 degrees, but after reading the reviews, decided to try it. Our roast was almost seven pounds and we cooked it 1 hour and forty minutes, or just about 15 minutes per lb.. We did use a meat thermometer and took it out when it got to 120 degrees. We let it rest for about 45 minutes wrapped in aluminum foil. It was a perfect medium rare, moist, and delicious. We have done prime rib for Christmas dinner every year with mixed results. We've rotisseried, in tthe hot oven then turned the oven off, and started hot and then lowered the temp. This one was wonderful and will be our preferred method of cooking from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
decided to try a new recipe to get a tastier crunch to the roast and try for something juicier than what I've managed to do in the past. Now I know..."low and slow is the way to go". The temp on this is waaaaay to high! Within an hour my kitchen and home was filled with smoke from the extreme heat which basically just dehydrated a beautiful piece of meat and it cooked way too fast and was well done in no time (I was trying for medium rare). Never again! Should have read ALL the comments - there were some that agreed with this and those are the ones I should have listened to. The rub was tasty - that's about all that is good about this recipe. Save your dinner and avoid this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was by far the best prime rib I have ever cooked. The only problem was I cooked it a little too long, otherwise it was fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing. Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States