Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Made this for 2012 Christmas Eve Dinner and everyone loves it. It was moist and tender, came out perfect! The only change I made was using Montreal Steak Spice in place of paprika, onion powder, garlic powder and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I was going to give-up on making Prime Rib ,because I either overcook or undercook it, even using an themometer but decided to give it another try for Xmas dinner. This was so easy and delicious. The meat was cooked perfectly to our liking...medium. Outside was nicely browned and flavorful. This recipe really takes all the guesswork out of preparing such an expensive cut of meat. I had a two bone, 3 pounder, and cooked it for an hour on 425...I used 20 min. per pound. Tented it for 30. Fabulous! This will be my new go to for Prime Rib dinner. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I wanted something special for our New Year's Day dinner so I got a prime rib roast and used this recipe. The only change I made was to add a bit of steak spice to the rub. The flavour was wonderful and the roast was SO tender and juicy. It got raves from everyone. I'll be keeping this recipe even though I probably won't use it often since this cut of meat is so expensive. Well worth the try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love prime rib & this is by far THE best recipe - better than prime rib I've had at many restaurants. Literally gets 5 star reviews from my guests who do not hesitate to request I make it agin and again. I usually use Paula Dean's cooking method (turning off oven for a period and then turning back on) because it really is fool proof. I do have one question though - last time I made it, the roast was tied and after cooking, removing ties caused coating to fall off. It really screwed up the fantastic flavoring. I can't recall what I had done differently in the past that did not result in this problem. Making for Xmas eve again this year and could use diagnosis of my error, if anyone knows what I did wrong, please please please post!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I've made this 3 times and love the way it turned out. So so so moist. I don't think you can improve on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Esquibel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimK
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent! I have tried so many prime rib recipes and this one does as it promises. It was so juicy and had a great mixture of well done to rare (for my husband). I cooked a 7 lb roast for about 1 hour and 40 minutes. I let it sit, covered, for another 30 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I was looking for a good seasoning mix for my tenderloin steaks. I seasoned exactly as you advise for the roast, and it was fantastic. The meat was so tender. Even my husband raved. Thanks very much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Excellent. I have never cooked Prime Rib before and prepared this for a crowd. We wanted well-done since most of our guests prefer this. Easy, incredible and our company raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a fantastic prime rib recipe. I pretty much followed it to the letter. I always use an instant read thermometer and a 4 rib 8 1/2 lb. roast took just under 2 hrs to reach 125 deg. F. I carved it after letting it sit tented for about 1/2 hr and there was almost no juice left on the cutting board. It was all in the meat! I have tried fast cook, slow cook and traditional methods of roasting prime rib and this is by far the best result yet. Obviously roasting times may vary. I found it took just under 15 min/lb, but I dry age my beef for at least 48 hrs at 40 deg F and let it sit at room temp for at least 4 hrs before putting it in the oven. The extra flour naturally mixes with the pan drippings to make a tasty gravy base. Great Recipe all around!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The recipe is fantastic and always gets great raves from my guests. I always use a meat thermometer though and take it out when the internal temperature reaches 120 degree F. The longer you tent the meat the more it will keep cooking.There is also an interesting method on food wishes.com where you roast the meat 500 degree F for 5 Min/the extact weight of the meat and then turn off the oven and let it sit undisturbed for two hours. This works very well too, if you like your roast rare/medium rare. However, I did not get the drippings for an au jus like I do with this recipe. Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States