Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by KimK
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent! I have tried so many prime rib recipes and this one does as it promises. It was so juicy and had a great mixture of well done to rare (for my husband). I cooked a 7 lb roast for about 1 hour and 40 minutes. I let it sit, covered, for another 30 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I was looking for a good seasoning mix for my tenderloin steaks. I seasoned exactly as you advise for the roast, and it was fantastic. The meat was so tender. Even my husband raved. Thanks very much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Excellent. I have never cooked Prime Rib before and prepared this for a crowd. We wanted well-done since most of our guests prefer this. Easy, incredible and our company raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a fantastic prime rib recipe. I pretty much followed it to the letter. I always use an instant read thermometer and a 4 rib 8 1/2 lb. roast took just under 2 hrs to reach 125 deg. F. I carved it after letting it sit tented for about 1/2 hr and there was almost no juice left on the cutting board. It was all in the meat! I have tried fast cook, slow cook and traditional methods of roasting prime rib and this is by far the best result yet. Obviously roasting times may vary. I found it took just under 15 min/lb, but I dry age my beef for at least 48 hrs at 40 deg F and let it sit at room temp for at least 4 hrs before putting it in the oven. The extra flour naturally mixes with the pan drippings to make a tasty gravy base. Great Recipe all around!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The recipe is fantastic and always gets great raves from my guests. I always use a meat thermometer though and take it out when the internal temperature reaches 120 degree F. The longer you tent the meat the more it will keep cooking.There is also an interesting method on food wishes.com where you roast the meat 500 degree F for 5 Min/the extact weight of the meat and then turn off the oven and let it sit undisturbed for two hours. This works very well too, if you like your roast rare/medium rare. However, I did not get the drippings for an au jus like I do with this recipe. Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I felt like a restaurant chef after cooking this roast. It turned out delicious. After the roast was done, I left the roast in the oven (turned off) for approx. two hours... did not open the oven door during the two hours.. the roast was so tender and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is the best tasting prime rib I have ever made! The seasonings seem very simple but they end result is so flavorful but does not overpower! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just finished Christmas Dinner with a 20 lb Choice Rib Roast. Added fresh chopped rosemary and Montreal Seasoning to recipe.I rubbed Olive oil on roast then flour mixture. I had lots of other dishes going and forgot to set timer. Temperature got to 140 and i pulled it out. Even though it was over cooked it was still moist and had raves about flavor. I will try again for New Years and will achieve perfection! I won't worry anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect! Made this last Christmas Day for the first time. It was wonderful. I was not a huge fan of prime rib but my family loves it so they won the dinner choice. This recipe changed my mind. I had to leave out the onion powder as I am allergic to it but it was wonderful without. Tomorrow I will follow this recipe for the fourth time and don't have to wonder how it will taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
came out amazing! followed almost exactly. Didn't have garlic powder so used minced. Also didn't have celery seed but it didnt affect anything. I seasoned this meat the night before the party. Awsome recipe. It was my first time cooking this type of pricey meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States