Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was I think the third or fourth attempt that I have made at making a rib roast. I let my roast sit out about 7 hours before cooking it because it was a 5 rib, about 13.4 lbs roast. The temperature when I put it in the oven was a out 53 degrees. I preheated the oven to 425 and planned on the 15 minute per pound. I used a meat thermometer that I could view from outside the oven and removed it when it reached 120 degrees. Now the difference I experienced here was that I actually had to take it out of the oven over an hour earlier than my planned time. And the shallow pan I used was full of juice. I do not know if I did not make the flour coating thick enough but it did not hold all the juice inside. So, I had to spoon out the juice before I could pick up the pan. I then covered the roast in the pan with a couple layers of foil and let it set for about an hour and 15 minutes. I would have carved it sooner but since it finished so quick we did not have the rest of the food ready. I was not too thrilled with the flour coating. With all that said, even though I had a few road bumps. This was BY FAR THE BEST STANDING RIB ROAST I HAVE EVER MADE. Everyone was very happy including myself. I will experiment with a different coating for next time. Probably a homemade flavored butter. But I highly recommend to anyone that is cooking a rib roast, get a meat thermometer. You cannot go wrong if you have one and pay attention to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I did this recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Alonso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. I cooked a 12lb roast for 3 hours on 425 degrees. When I took it out it was at 140 degrees. I covered with aluminum foil and let it stand for 3 hours. Just before I served it I put it back in the oven on 425 for 20 min to warm. It turned out perfect. It was med well on ends and med in middle. It was so tender you could cut with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Ferguson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have used this recipe for the past 3 years and LOVE it. Thank you Barbara for all your efforts to perfect this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The flavor and crust from this recipe were superb. The only improvement I would suggest would be to cook 15 minutes per pound form medium, I cooked an 8.9 pound roast for 3 hours (@20mins/ pound). While still very tasty, the meat was not burned, but overdone, certainly not medium or medium well. We will try this again, gladly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The first time, I tried this recipe was on Christmas 2010 for myself and family. And the following year l prepared this for my mother and step-father and they loved it. So now, my mother wants it every Christmas. It is the best hands down...... I plan to do this same flour crust for my New York Loin Roast for this 2014 Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Mouton-James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Spot on!! You have to try it. Restaurant secret is out!! I added additional cracked pepper and Old Bay seasoning. Wow, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe thanks so much for sharing it's a keeper in our family anyone who tries this wont be disappointed and if you are YOU did something wrong.....We do this one every christmas and year after year the list of people coming for christmas dinner is getting bigger and bigger we have done 2 roast at 22lbs and still no left overs and everyone wants the recipe so now I've printed recipe's out for those who want one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is great! I followed the instructions and happy with the results. My boyfriend was in meat heaven. I bought a 4.5 lb roast coated the meat with the flour seasoned with the spices and cooked the meat at 425 degrees for 1 hour and 30 minutes and allowed the roast to sit for about 45 minutes before serving. Medium rare was the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Sampson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superchef mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okauchee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States