Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used this recipe to cook a 4 1/2 pound boneless prime rib and it turned out fantastic!! Everyone loved it and went back for more. I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and my roast came out juicy, flavorful and medium rare. There were no drippings and my roast had very little faT but I did add a cup of water to the pan a few times while it was baking. I did let the roast sit for 45 minutes before carving it, it was still very warm. Reading other reviews left me worried about what temperature and how long to cook this but this method worked perfectly!! Especially since I has other things cooking in the oven at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Came out perfectly, I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Zygadlo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I used this recipe for a 8lbs roast for a xmas dinner for my in laws. read over half of the reviews before getting started. I followed the recipe to the letter. Wife and I have eaten in the best restaurants her in N.C., this was the best prime rib we ever had. great crust, no smoked up kitchen, and wonderful flavor. All the juice stayed in the meat after resting for 20 mins., no need for au jus. Just take the time for the roast to get to room temp. before cooking, that is the key. Use a meat thermometer with alarm, set it for how you like it cooked and trust it, you want be sorry. THANK YOU for a great way to cook prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I will keep this simple, this recipe works great as long as you remember 2 key points. Use a meat thermometer and remove the roast from the oven once the internal temp hits 120 degrees, the roast will continue to cook as it sits, once it hits 140 or so you have a nice medium rare roast ready fir the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was so delicious. Easy to prepare. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made a small 5.5 lb rib roast using this recipe (I halved the flour and seasonings). Roasted it on a rack, 15 minutes per pound. It was delicious. Slices ranged from med- well to med-rare. The meat was melt - in - your mouth tender. A perfect holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Worked great. Followed some other reviews with small changes. Added a little cayenne to the rub. Will need more next time. As one mentioned, I had a little left over, but not a great deal. Cooked a 9.5lb rib at 425F for about 20 minutes to start/crisp it up which worked great then dropped to 350F. It appeared to be getting close to 120 within about 2hrs, so I dropped the temp to 325F to time up with the rest of the meal. I also added 2c of water to the pan, as the rib was sitting on a rack. I had dry aged the rib for about 2.5 days, so was worried about juices, but cutting into the rib after 45min rest, the juices started coming out. Gravy or jus was not needed as the meat was plenty tender and juicy. But still managed to make some gravy from the tidbits in the bottom of the pan with some beef stock and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was I think the third or fourth attempt that I have made at making a rib roast. I let my roast sit out about 7 hours before cooking it because it was a 5 rib, about 13.4 lbs roast. The temperature when I put it in the oven was a out 53 degrees. I preheated the oven to 425 and planned on the 15 minute per pound. I used a meat thermometer that I could view from outside the oven and removed it when it reached 120 degrees. Now the difference I experienced here was that I actually had to take it out of the oven over an hour earlier than my planned time. And the shallow pan I used was full of juice. I do not know if I did not make the flour coating thick enough but it did not hold all the juice inside. So, I had to spoon out the juice before I could pick up the pan. I then covered the roast in the pan with a couple layers of foil and let it set for about an hour and 15 minutes. I would have carved it sooner but since it finished so quick we did not have the rest of the food ready. I was not too thrilled with the flour coating. With all that said, even though I had a few road bumps. This was BY FAR THE BEST STANDING RIB ROAST I HAVE EVER MADE. Everyone was very happy including myself. I will experiment with a different coating for next time. Probably a homemade flavored butter. But I highly recommend to anyone that is cooking a rib roast, get a meat thermometer. You cannot go wrong if you have one and pay attention to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I did this recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Alonso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. I cooked a 12lb roast for 3 hours on 425 degrees. When I took it out it was at 140 degrees. I covered with aluminum foil and let it stand for 3 hours. Just before I served it I put it back in the oven on 425 for 20 min to warm. It turned out perfect. It was med well on ends and med in middle. It was so tender you could cut with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Ferguson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States