Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have used this recipe numerous times with various sizes of prime rib and it always come out perfect. The rub seals in the juices and the roast gets a beautiful sear on the outside. If you use a meat thermometer you will have perfect results.This is my go to recipe for rib. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAMBR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i made it and everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
A one star simply because roasting at 425 degrees the entire time is too much and will result in a dried out, over-cooked roast. See other recipes for appropriate temperatures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Way too hot and way too long! Here's my foolproof way: Roast in a preheated 450 degree F oven for 25 minutes. Reduce the heat to 325 degree F and roast about 2 hours longer for medium-rare.(DO NOT OPEN OVEN DOOR!!!) I use a probe thermometer with an alarm set to 115F... it will continue cooking to 120F during the resting period... always perfect medium rare!!! It never fails...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I have prepared numerous prime rib roasts through the years; this recipe was foolproof. I had run out of celery seeds so subsituted a little celery salt. It still came out beautifully. I roasted annabella potatoes, parsnips and a couple of carrots around the roast. Next time I will add some onions. As there was little to no roast drippings I relied on some gravy stashed in the freezer and had to forgo making yorkshire pudding Next time I will add some of the scant drippings to some oil to produce the required fat for the yorkshires. This roast was perfectly cooked, flavourful and will be my go to recipe for prime rib next time I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but this was the most incredible prime rib I have ever had. The crust and juiciness were amazing. I used more salt (1/4 C sea salt and 1/4 C garlic salt) but everything else the same. I roasted it at 350 for 2 - 2 1/2 hours. It measured 120 when I took it out and went up to 130 which is right for medium rare. We let it rest for an hour. When we cut it the very center was just a hair on the rare side. Next time I'll try the 425 searing. I would still do the amount of salt. It did not come out too salty. I even added 1 1/2 C madeira and 1/2 C water to the bottom of the pan for au jus. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
excellent cookies my husband loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mytilineos Litsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made several Prime ribs. Used on other roast. Great every time. Watching temp is very important. I pull at 130......by the time I slice I am in the 140's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing! Followed the recipe exaclty and this was fabulous! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Made this for 2012 Christmas Eve Dinner and everyone loves it. It was moist and tender, came out perfect! The only change I made was using Montreal Steak Spice in place of paprika, onion powder, garlic powder and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States