Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was a great way to cook prime rib. I loved the coating in this recipe as I am not a big fan of the heavy use of salt. I used my fancy talking thermometer and it was done to perfection. Thanks for posting this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! Followed 15 minutes per pound for a 5.5 lb standing rib roast using proportioned coating mixture. The coating kept all the juices in the roast. I cooked this at 425 until thermometer registered 120 degrees. Because this roast was smaller than the original recipe, it cooled too much while sitting for 30 minutes. Next time I will let it sit for only 20 minutes. I have cooked many rib roasts through the years and this was the best ever recipe. The key is having the roast completely at room temperature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Maybe the negative reviewers should read the Perfect Prime Rib instructions from this web site and try again. This is a very good recipe. I didn't have the bones removed and tied to the roast, but relied on a meat thermometer to reach a perfect med rare roast at 120?. It is not hard to carve. Although prime beef is not really necessary, I don't think select would be very good. Choice is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and was really praying it would work. I had a 9lb 40z beautiful boneless Prime Rib Roast that cost me an arm and a leg so didn't want to ruin it. I followed the recipe to the letter, roasting 15 minutes per lb at 425 degree (pre-heated oven). I let it rest for 30 minutes. My family was overwhelmed! Medium Rare in the middle and a little less rare to Well on the ends. Everyone from kids to adults had what they wanted. It was the first year with little talk while they ate. All I heard was "yummy" sounds. I will make it again, when I can afford it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
We thought this roast was delicious! We only did a 4 pound roast so the recipe had to be adjusted but we thought the spices were just right, the cook time was just right, and everyone in the house ate it up. Thanks for the recipe! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner for the first time and it came out perfectly! I followed the recipe exactly, but I did have to cook a little longer than what it said but that could just be my roaster oven. Everyone raved, even my husband who only likes tenderloin steaks! Thank You for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My roast turned out perfect! The house smelled wonderful and when I took the roast out it looked awesome, like something you would see in a magazine. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
** updated rating ** I used this recipe on a 20 lb roast on Christmas; the quantity of rub was sufficient, even for the large hunk of meat! the one thing I did a little differently was to cook the roast for 15 at 475 first, then down to 325 for the remainder. I was using a roasting oven, rather than traditional. cooking time was about 3 hours - and the meat was perfect - everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times now, and so have a couple of people I know. For me, the recipe worked exactly as described...the only difference was I only cooked it to 125 degrees for your typical med-rare. For those out there that think it should be cooked slower, at a lower temperature, I think that if you just follow it exact you will realize how amazing this recipe is. Trust me on this one, don't mess with a good thing!!! Thanks for the Recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I too was a little worried making this as my family has always roasted prime rib on a low temp for a long time. I have never made prime rib myself before and was making it for my husbands grandparents. I decided to follow the recipe exact except I didn't cut the ribs off. I just left them on and placed them down on the pan with the fat turned up. I did a cut that was just over 5 lbs and it took a little longer than 15min/lbs however I think that is because I was cooking other items in the oven at the same time. I took it out at 120 degrees because I was paranoid of over cooking it as my husband and grandpa like their beef on the rare side. It heated up to 140 degrees before we cut it and it was great. It was rare/medium rare, which was great. I will use this recipe from now on for prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlssbarbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States