Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I have to write this review before I go to bed, and trust me, I am exhausted from Christmas dinner! My guests were saying they have never had prime rib this good, not even at a restaurant. I couldn't believe I had done it. Everyone was happy because I waited until the temp was about 140 on a 9 pound roast. I let it sit for an hour and it was still warm, but the middle was medium rare and the outside was a perfect medium to medium well. I made the full recipe of flour and only had a little extra. I didn't have celery seed so I put in a little less salt and then put in 1/2 tsp of celery salt instead. You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Awesome prime rib for Christmas dinner! The roast was 8 lb with the rib on. Used a digital thermometer and didn't open the oven door until the temp. was 120. Let it rest for 20 min., and then......perfection. Something for everyone's taste, med. on the outer edges and med. rare inside. Tender and juicy!!! Will definitely add this to "special dinner" collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
425 is way too high to cook this roast at for the entire cooking process. My roast was done in 2 hours and it was burnt, dried out and WELL done. My family wasn't eating for another 3 hours. I will say that the seasoning mix is very good, although I didn't have an celery seed so I substituted Rosemary and Dried Parsly and it was delicious. Cooking instructions definitely need to be tweaked. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
The meat was juicy and delicious. The instructions worked perfectly. Next time I will take it out at 115 degrees as I like my meat rare. I took it out at 120 and it was perfect medium rare after resting. My roast was 9 lbs. I cooked it for 2.5 hours. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Turned out great, didn't adjust a thing! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it did turn out a little on the rare side, next time I will cook it a bit longer. Was VERY juicy and very tender. The crust kept in all the juices very nicely. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipie is awesome. Was very hesitant with the high temperature but it was perfect. Roast turned out so moist and flavorful. For those that have commented on the temperature.....don't knock it till you try it. Thanks much for the fail proof method. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great tasting rub. Everyone loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was so easy just following the directions..I left the ribs in and just turned them down. This was the first time I made Prime Rib and I was a big success Christmas Eve with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Itrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this for my family for a pre christmas dinner. It was a 12lb roast and we followed the directions by the letter and it was fabulous. There was not even a piece of fat left over. It served 25 adults and children. I also had au jus and the meat was so tender and juicy most people didn't use the aujus. This is a winner and I will definately make this again. I was my first time making this roast because I was a little intimidated but I won't hesitate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe and I have tried many different recipes for prime rib roast. Since I had a much smaller roast (3lb, 2 bones) I did adjust the amount of flour and seasonings and left the bone in. But definately don't be afraid to pack on the flour and seasonings onto the roast. It really does seal in all the juices! Awesome flavour! Looking forward to using this recipe again tonight for Christmas Eve dinner. Merry Christmas everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States