Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe was perfect. I didn't change anything. My family loved it and the prime rib was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I had a 15 lb roast and baked it for 4.5 hours. Almost immediately after I put this prime rib roast in the oven deliciously mouthwateringly obscene smells began pouring out! My guests didn't arrive on time so my roast sat in foil for an hour longer after removing from the oven, which caused it to be a bit well done throughout. If that ever happens again I will remove the foil and place in a barely warm oven. And yes I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
OK I followed the directions to the letter for an 8lb Bone in Standing Rib. Pulled the roast out at 120 degrees and set it aside while I made Yorkshire pudding from the fat dripping, which were plentiful. Started carving when digital thermometer read 140. Guess I need a new digital thermometer because the roast was medium well on the ends and medium in the middle. I ate the ends and served all the other pieces to our guests. Everyone loved the flavor and it was very juicy. I loved the end pieces as I felt that had the best flavor but would have preferred my meat to be more medium rare rather then medium well done. Overall I rate this as a very good recipe. What I will change is the meat thermometer and pull the roast out at 110 to 115 degrees and start carving when the temp hits 130 to 135. Didn't have any problems with smoke and there was plenty of fat drippings in the bottom of the roast pan, over a cup and half of fat dripping. Plenty to make 12 individual yorkshire pudding cups. I have saved this recipe and made notes for myself for the next time I make this roast. My only disappointment was how quickly this roast cooked once I got over 100 degrees and how quickly it cooked once it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made this for Christmas Dinner. Followed directions to the letter, and it came out brilliant. Crust was not as tasty as some prime rib recipes, but the meat was so tender and juicy. High temp and flour created a seared crust that retained moisture and flavor. The six pound roast took longer than the estimated cooking time, but in the end, it was well worth it. Roast ends were well, while center was hot and pink. Relative fought to take home two leftover pieces. I'll take that kind of compliment any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This roast was fantastic! Everyone raved about it at Christmas dinner. I followed the recipe to a tee! Thank you! This will be the way we roast a prime rib from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKWard17
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
It was my first time cooking prime rib for the Holiday's, and this recipe caught my eye. Not only was it simple, but it truly looks gorgeus after cooked. I submitted a photo, since it speaks for itself. I do want to say that I didn't cook the roast @ 425 the entire cook time and that is the reason I only rated the recipe 4 stars. It got smokey and may have burnt the outside too much if I had. I cooked the roast for 45 mins @ 425 and then and additional 1 hr @ 350 until the thermometer said 155, just about medium. The roast was so juicy and we had left overs the next day for lunch and it tasted just as fresh and juicy as it did fresh out of the oven. Excellent recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was one of the best prime ribs I've made. I had a 12 lb roast. Thankfully, I had a big one because I had a large crowd. There was a crowd surrounding the roast as it was being carved. I used a digital thermometer in the meat as it was cooking and removed it when the temp hit 125 degrees. After it rested for at least 45 minutes it had reached 140 degrees. I would say it was more on the medium side of medium rare. I was really worried it might have over cooked but it really was perfect. There certainly wasn't much left. I served it with a mixture of sour cream and hot horseradish. I did have some smoking but I think that was due to the oven needing cleaning then the roast cooking. Thanks Barbara for a truly wonderful recipe. I don't cook prime rib often but when i do, this will be my "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was great. I had a 6 lb boneless roast. I cheated, and used a "prime rib roast seasoning" from a jar and added that to my flour. I roasted it for about 15 minutes per pound and let it set for about 20 minutes. It was a teeny bit more done than we would have liked, but it was such a great cut of meat and the flavor was so good, no one cared. Will make again when I can afford it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was the best recipe for Prime Rib that I have ever used! I followed Barbara's instructions exactly, except I didn't have onion powder so I substituted onion soup mix and I didn't have enough time to let the meat sit out the whole 3-hours before roasting. I used a 5.5 lb boneless roast, so I set the oven timer for 1.5 hr. There was no burning or smoking during roasting as I made sure there was no loose flour or liquids at the bottom of the pan prior to roasting. I did run into a problem, though. With 30 min. roasting time left, the meat thermometer read 130, so I immediately removed the roast as we like med/rare. I let it sit covered for 30 min prior to carving. The ends were beautifully done, but the center was too raw (even for us). I was able to save the roast by slicing a couple steaks off each end, pressed some of the left over seasoned flour mixture on each side of the roast, and stuck it back in the oven for 30 minutes, which was the time left from the total cooking time of the recipe. Whe the time was us, I took it out and let it stand for 30 more min. and the meat was perfectly med/rare. My advice is to be sure you have an excellent meat thermometer! Thank you Barbara for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe and directions. It was my first time making prime rib and after all the research I did, I am SO thankful I went with this recipe. Moist, easy, delicious and the perfect choice for a memorable Christmas dinner. The son-in-laws already requested it for the next holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States