Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This came out perfect 1st time with this formula. I only had a 4.5lb roast, so scaled it back. Cooking time with my oven was about 15min per lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Selected three stars, because I haven't tried it yet. Can someone tell me if you are supposed to keep the oven at 425 the entire time, or turn it down at some point. Also, if I only have about a 9 pound roast, would that change my time and temp? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good recipe. Fat rendered on the bottom of the pan can get quite smoky. Took days to get the smell of smoking fat out of my house! Make sure you have good ventilation. Served this for New Years and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Excellant coating,great blend of spices and flour.The juices tend to stay in the meat,so au jus is not there. I added mushrooms and water to keep the pan from browning and at the end, some brandy to add an extra zing.Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by He be GB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindeeandgordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
WOW! Talk about moist and juicy. I was skeptical because it required such little time in the oven but it continues to cook under the foil until the exact doness. What a great great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Christmas dinner 2009. Absolutely the best prime rib I've ever made. I had a roast weighing just over 9 lbs and like others, didn't remove the ribs. Roasted for about 2 1/2 hours and let it rest for 30-45 minutes. I made a horseradish cream sauce and also had au jus to serve with the meat. Served with garlic mashed potatoes, roasted asparagus, spinach salad, and dinner rolls. A simple, elegant, uncomplicated, elegant meal. Rave reviews all around. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I don't really like prime rib but my husband does so I made this for New Year's Eve. He loved and I thougth it was pretty darn good. Made great sandwiches with the left overs. The coating was perfect. I bought a meat thermometer that I could leave in and that was the key to cooking it a beautiful medium rare. I did turn the heat down to 350 after the first 20 min at my butcher's suggesiton and that worked perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good! Tastes great like a high-priced restaurant meal. I cooked a 4-lb standing rib roast using a few modifications based on reviews and the roast came out great. I cooked it at 425 for 30 mins, then 350 for 20 mins per pound. I also put a little water in the pan before placing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peebs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My guest and family enjoyed the flavor...This was the first time ever making prime rib. My husband felt the meat was a little tuff. I'm not sure it was the recipe or the quality of meat I bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States