Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
made this for xmas & it was pretty good. i had a 6lb boneless roast..i loved the flour/herb mix on the finished roast. i believe the heat may have been too high for my roast; it was tender and med-rare in the middle (as i wanted it), but the grain of the meat was visible and you could feel the texture as you chewed it. every good restaurant prime rib ive ever had was almost the consistency of room-temp butter. a great recipe but i need more trial and error w/ it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinupstuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made a three rib roast this Christmas and this recipe was excellent. Will make it again in the future for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was the first time I had ever made Prime Rib Roast... Excellent Recipe! Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this last night for our New Years Eve/Anniversary dinner and it was soooooooo yummy! I absolutely love the rub and it definitely seals in the juices! I have made these before with the roast already seasoned at the store and yes, the roast spits and sizzles and smokes while it cooks. It is messy! This recipe, however, did not do that! The flour coating locks all of the juice in so it does not end up all over the walls of your oven. Even better than that though is that the meat is soooooooo tender and juicy because the juice stays *inside* where it belongs. I even doubled the salt because I like its flavor. Fabulous recipe, thank you so much. Everybody likes their meat done to different levels of doneness so the person cooking it needs to decide how well done they will cook it. I like mine very rare so I cut down the cooking time. One person can NOT predict each person's pallet, so we need to take some of the responsibility in the cooking length. If you want to cook a prime rib that tastes as good as it looks, than you have found the perfect recipe right here. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Cooked a 15 lb roast. While flavor-wise, it was very good and still very tender and juicy, the temperature is way too high for the doneness levels and times listed. Four hours yielded a nearly well done roast. Either lower the temp or cook for considerably fewer minutes per lb. Just to be sure, I checked the temp of my oven during cooking with a stand up thermometer on the same rack as the roast. It was accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this the first time for my Christmas dinner and it turned out great as written. Used a 8 1/2 lb roast in an electric roasting pan. Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I cooked a 5 lb prime roast without ribs. The roast was excellent. I have to admit that I took it out a few minutes early fearing that it would be over cooked for our tastes... it was actually slightly redder than I wanted. Next time I wont cheat...I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I changed the cooking temp as well to 325 for 3 hours for a 15 lb prime rib and then I lowered it to 250 for the last hour or so for a perfectly medium rare prime rib. Everyone is still complementing on how amazing it was and I was very impressed considering this was my first time to prepare it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
had a 5.5 lb roast. Cooked according to directions. So tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Amazing recipe. I made this exactly as the recipe said and got rave reviews! Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States