Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Loved these,frying them made them really crispy...soo worth the calories! Ony thing i done differently was i used real bacon bits....YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe is very good! I followed the recipe exactly. I made have taken a little much out of the shell. But my friends loved them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were really good! Not quite as good as I've had in restaurants but really good for homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My husband just made these for us and I have to say they were great! I was reading all the reviews on not frying them, and that's a wonderful tip but we fryed them. The main reason being: it's quicker. Yes there may be more fat, but it's all in moderation. Not like we eat these every day. Great recipe!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsully

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla_P
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very good, to cut down on the fat I did what another reviewer recommended,After scooping out the inside of the potatoe I spayed it with olive oil and baked it for 30 min on 425 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I gave these five stars because I have been making skins for years, but these are by far the best bunch I have ever made at home. Deep frying is critical with this bunch because it adds so much flavor as well as helping to add the needed crispness that so many skins lack. All in all, great dish. I did cook real bacon, however, not bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
When I made these I did not fry them. I baked the potatoes till soft. Scooped out the centers, brushed the insides with a little vegetable oil and baked for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees to crisp them up a bit. Then I topped the skins with cheedar cheese, crumbled bacon and sliced green onions. Back into the oven to bake until cheese was piping hot and bubbly. I serve them with Ranch dressing. One of our favorite ways to eat potatoes! Definitely not low-cal or low-fat! But definitely DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These were awesome! They make me wish that I had a fryer at home. I used a deep skillet with canola oil and added some scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Excellent! Made just as instructed, they were not greasy and were just wonderful! My husband loved them. Please don't be afraid to fry, everything in moderation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was really good! I took other peoples advice and did not fry them. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States