Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
To get the true restaurant taste I shingle the scooped skins together on a baking sheet (so they dont curl) and bake them at 250 degree oven for about 20-30 mins. This will pull excess moisture from the skins which will help them crisp up better when you fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidkasserole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Imperial, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I did not fry these potato skins based on several of the reviews I read prior to making this recipe. I made them for a Super Bowl party and they went quickly!! Delicious snacky food! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melogaut
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Best potatoes ever! I loved them and everyone keeps asking me to make this recipe again. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent. I microwaved them for 10 minutes and used a small cookie scoop to clean them out, brushed them lightly inside and out with vegtable oil instead of frying and put under the broiler about 5 minutes each side. Once a little crispy, I filled them with the cheese and I used Oscar Meyer pre-cooked bacon instead of bacon bits. Put them back in the oven until the cheese was melted. Since it is football season and we are watching the game, I also served these with the slow cooker buffalo chicken sandwiches also found on this site. I love pub food night! thanks for a great recipe, the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i baked my tomatoes for an hour instead of frying them they were good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Really close to the restaurant ones, I think it's still missing something tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Great recipe for fast potato skins, making this version perfect as an appetizer. If you have the time for a healthy alternative, the below recommendations to bake the potatoes instead of frying them taste just as good. Thanks Misty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
so yummy! we love to get potato skins when we eat out and these taste like a restaurant.. your gonna love them. followed the recipe to a T and everything when well. I don't understand the reviews that say this is to much work.. its really easy. I cannot wait until I can make them on Sundays for football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I, too, did not deep fry these but instead baked the potatoes first in the oven, let them cool, then scooped out the insides. I brushed the inside with a bit of olive oil and baked for about 10 minutes at 425. I then had added the cheese & bacon into the scooped out portion of potatoes and mixed well, filled the skins with the mixture and then topped with just a bit more shredded sharp cheddar. After baking for about 10 minutes I turned the oven to broil and broiled just until the cheese was perfect. Served with fat-free sour cream and diced green onions. Needed a bit of salt and pepper and they were FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
yummy! although i baked the potatoes... still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envy23
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Mexican Potato Nachos

See how to make hearty beef and bean nachos with a layer of potatoes!

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States