Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
these are super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made these for a few friends that came over and watched football. It was great!! They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These were incredible!! My only complaint was they were a bit greasy. Perhaps they are they are supposed to be like that. But I think next time I will fry them for less time. Anyway, I took them to a superbowl party and they went fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InsanelySweet
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Baked in oven for 1 hour,let set for 30 minutes. Cut and scooped out center. Brushed with some melted butter and broiled them. Added cheese and bacon then broiled again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InsanelySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Loved it. To make a low-fat version, we dipped the skins in olive oil but didn't fry them, swapped fried onions (in olive oil) for the bacon, used soy cheese and fat free sour cream. Put them under the broiler for 5 minutes. Perfect for parties, or after-school snacks for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I tried these tonight, awesome after deep frying added some seasalt and garlic powder to the skins added onions to the potatoe meat stuffed, topped with texmex cheese. awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Never made skins before and everyone was extremely pleased. I took the advice of others on here and baked them in the oven at 400 degrees for 1 hour instead of microwaving it. Then scooped out the skins, (leaving about 1/4 inch of "meat" left on the skins) sprayed skins with Pam, put back into oven at 425 for about 8 minutes, put on cheese and real bacon bits (bagged) and then back into oven for about 2 minutes or until cheese has melted. Served with ramekins filled with sour cream and fresh chopped scallions. They were so good!!! The only thing I think I will do differently next time is rub some sea salt on the skins when putting back into oven and frying down some actual bacon, maybe tossing in some seasonings while it's cooking to add a burst of flavor. Oh, I used the scooped insides to make Shepherd's Pie the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These sound delicious, but don't have to have nearly the same amount of fat and calories that they have! First of all, I don't think you'll need a whole container of sour cream, I feel like that will overtake the flavor of the potatoes and stuff. Also, try using 2% cheese and reduced fat sour cream, or heck, I even use plain yogurt! I feel like it has the same consistancy and if you add a couple of herbs or other flavorings to it, it will make it a little more flavorful. Also, there's no need to fry it. BAKE, for the same crunch and less oil and fat! So excited to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Really good, great football food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States