Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Turned out yummy! I used Yukon golds, brushed them with butter, and baked until skins were crispy (instead of frying) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Photo by Patrick's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These turned out excellent. I used red potatoes but next time I may use big brown ones. I may try other fillings too. This was the best pictuure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yum! I skipped the frying part, just brushed with a little bit of melted butter and baked until the skin got crispy then filled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I like others cooked them in the oven, but I then deep fried them. They turned out swell!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
YUM! This is without a doubt restaurant-worthy, lip-smacking (and artery clogging!) G-O-O-O-D!!! :) Although not the healthiest option, it's a real treat to indulge every now and then. PLEASE CONSIDER: If you're looking to cut calories, DON'T make the mistake of passing this by. As others have done, use your oven! If you bake your spuds at 425 for an hour, they will crisp up nicely. You won't even miss the fact that they're not fried (trust me!). Simply coat your potatoes with a little EVOO (this allows them to crisp up) and season to taste with garlic powder, salt and pepper and - voila! TIP: Be SURE to leave at LEAST 1/4 in. of your potato shells INTACT! I scooped a little too much from mine and my hubs commented about that lol! And, why use bacon bits when you can quickly fry up a few pieces of FRESH bacon????? These are extra special, so go all out. After all, you only live once, right??!!? While you're at it, whip up some Ranch flavored sour cream and chop a bunch of scallions to top your skins with (mmmm...). Thanks for sharing your recipe, Misty! This is a winner for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Good recipe!! Tried it for the first time tonight and the whole family really liked it! I microwaved the potato's first (6 min for 2 red potato's--we didn't have russets) and then did as other reviewers suggested and scooped out the insides and sprayed with Pam. Then, put the the oven at 425 degrees for about 15 min's. Besides cheese and bacon we added Top the Tater-Fiesta Taco instead of regular sour cream, plus green onion and tomato's. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Very simple and easy and came out the same way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
What a great recipe for a special treat! I did bake the potatoes in the oven instead of the microwave, but followed the rest and they were amazing! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Loved these. Served them with sour creams with chopped up chives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
everyone in my family loved them! they were good baked but i bet they taste even better fried! yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States