Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made these just like the recipe said and although it took some time, they were great! Enjoyed by all at our Sunday football party. Frying the shells really beats baking for crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This recipe was great! I teach work and family studies at the high school level and my cooking class made them. Everyone enjoyed them and they were fairly easy to make. The deep frying scared me but my students had no problems. I will be making these for get togethers from now on!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
These was really easy and made a great snack for the football game. We served ours with ranch and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTR41TWOSTEP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
These were pretty good. Could be better if you added a bit more stuff. I might try these again with some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Potato skins have always been a favorite of ours, but this was the first time I ever made them at home. This is a great recipe as written, but I played with it just a little and was CRAZY happy with the result. I baked the potatoes in the oven early in the day (425 degrees for an hour) and left them on a rack to cool completely. About an hour before frying, I scooped out the flesh and sealed the shells in a zip-lock so they wouldn't dry out. I deep-fried them, seasoned with salt and cracked pepper, filled with sharp cheddar, and baked as instructed for 7 minutes. After removing from the oven, I sprinkled with lots of finely chopped green onion and more cracked pepper. I arranged the skins on a platter with a bowl of sour cream, and drizzled with a tiny bit of white truffle oil. Oh, MY. This isn't something I'll make often, but when you're in the mood for wicked, cheesy, over-the-top indulgence, this is the way to go. Misty, thank you for your wonderful recipe. You made us very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
YUM! I didn't need to fry them as long as the recipe calls for, but other than that I followed this it exactly. I plan on making them once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
These were delicious!! I made them with a Japanese Chicken recipe that I got off of this site. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Seriously as good as you get when you go out! This was my first time to fry a food in this much oil, but it was easy. They were a beautiful and crispy golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Loved these! As good as Red Robin's skins, which I absolutely love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very Good and Super Easy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States