Restaurant-Style Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I cannot believe I have not rated this yet...I found this recipe years ago and make it a lot especially for football game gatherings. I can put it together the night before or earlier during the day and pop it in the oven when ready. I use a Fry Daddy to fry the skins...It's almost a must for this recipe. Also, the bacon bits are extremely important in the quality and taste...I always use Hormel Black Label Bacon Bits (found by the salad items in the grocery store) I found these to be the most tasteful and I have even tried making homemade bacon bits, but the Hormel just have a great taste and are nice and soft .... can't stand the crunchy kind of bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRILLINWITHGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Super easy! I didn't fry the potatoes because it seemed too much grease, so I just microwaved it with a little seasoning and then followed the rest of the recipe. It was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I baked 6 potatoes in the oven the night before so they would be cool when I cut and scrapped the inside out. I saved the insides to make mashers tomorrow night. I didn't have a deep fryer so I poured about an inch of oil in a deep pot. Heated it up and started deep frying the skins. They smelled so good while I was cooking them. I drained them on paper towels. Shredded a mixture of Co-Jack and Sharp cheddar. Used that, bacon and some green onions. Placed them on a baking sheet and baked them till the cheese was melted and bubbly. They disappeared in 15 minutes. Great recipe!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
This is literally this best recipe I have found on allrecipes! I am a person that picks apart a recipe and changes alot...I have not changed a thing to this recipe! I make this once to twice a week and have been doing so for 9 months now! My family loves these! I even impressed my father in law with these! (hard thing to do) lol. Make these per the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Made it tonight...yummy..will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly including the deep frying and glad I did. They were a wonderful treat. Not something I will make often, but nice to know I can when the craving strikes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I baked these in the oven then followed with the deep fry per the recipe. I do not like baking potatoes in the microwave I have no idea why I just don't care for them. These were really really good my oldest son snarfed down most of them he's never dared to try one before and he fell in love. This is one we will be making at home again as I know its going to be asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Ok, this recipe got 3 stars for a few reasons. 1. Use real bacon!! Cook some bacon and then crumble it up beforehand. 2. The potatoes need some seasoning!! After I fried them (I used my deep fryer for an even fry), I seasoned them with seasoning salt and onion powder. I then put monterey jack cheese, bacon, then sharp cheddar cheese and broiled until cheese melted. Then I put dried chives on top. 3. Instead of sour cream, I made the "Ranch Dressing II" from this site and served with that. Make the ranch the day before so the flavors really come together. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Loved these! Made them for a New Year Eves party and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These came out awesome! Make sure you try to mix it up with different toppings! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States