Restaurant-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This was nearly perfect! A few ingredient adjustments here & there (less sugar, more onion & no parsley). Great side dish for any occasion... Thank you for sharing. But- adding a few hard boiled eggs really makes the difference. With the eggs, it is nearly perfect... And paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Classic potato salad. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae Morgan
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Vinegar gives it just the taste I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is a great starting point! I would definitely use either dill pickle relish or much less sugar in the future. I didn't even add all the sugar the recipe called for and it was still really sweet. Also, carrots and egg make a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this for our July 4th weekend BBQ, and it was good. I have to admit that I tend not to like potato salad, so I may not be the best judge of the recipe, but wanted to make something traditional for my Japanese friend. I made it without the pimento, parsley, sugar, or pickle relish; and with substitutions of coconut vinegar for white wine vinegar, red onion for white, yogurt for the mayo, plus a few dollops of mayo and dried dill. It needed a little more kick, though. Maybe some more dill and celery next time, plus paprika?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great basic recipe! I love onions, so I added more, and I used fresh italian parsley instead of dried. It was pretty easy with pre-chopped onion and celery from the grocery aisle. A perfect quick addition to our 4th of July celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
JUST LIKE MAMA USED TO MAKE, this recipe is amazing and easy. Did the minced onions-2 TBSP, and added a small can of sliced olives. Omited the pimento just because everyone else did. Make sauce and chill while potatoes are chilling in the frig and add olives at the end. My german mama has been gone 17 years, but I swear it tastes just like hers. DOUBLE THE RECIPE for sure-I would say doubling it serves 8. Triple it if you have 10-12 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Added 1 egg and some celery salt, instead of celery, carrots, and pimentos. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great recipe - measurement were to my liking. I did add some eggs and a bit of horseradish for an extra kick. Big hit ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kregsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was by far the best potato salad I've ever made. I was so happy to get rave reviews from my family. When I seen the ingredients, I had a good feeling about this one. I have to admit, I didn't follow the exact measurements but added them to my liking and it came out perfectly. The only thing I didn't do was add the shredded carrots and the pimento(couldn't find it). After I boiled my potatoes and skinned them, I just add sea salt to bring out the flavor. This is the best recipe I ever came across and I went through many including my own homemade concoction and this is a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States