Restaurant Style Mango Lassi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I have not seen mango in a can before. I decided to try the recipe with a fresh partially defrosted mango, but thought the ratio of the amount of liquid to fruit was kind of low. Unless, canned mangoes come in a lot of juice. I made a 1/2 a recipe, and as I suspected it needed more liquid. For the juice, I just added a small container of mandarin oranges that were in juice and some additional milk. It also badly needed some sweetener even though my mango seemed sweet. Maybe, the canned has sugar in it, not sure. I squeezed in some honey and blended for a few more seconds. It was very refreshing on a muggy day today and I am glad it worked, even though I really had to tweak it! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used fresh, very ripe mango which I had refrigerated overnight and skipped the ice. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I used canned Kesar Mango pulp bought at my Indian grocery store, but I used equal parts mango and yogurt and a little less than one part ice. I didn't have milk, so I used a little water instead. It was the perfect thick creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wovenwaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We had an Indian dinner for my Mom's birthday last night, and the Mango Lassi was a delicious and simple dessert. I used coconut milk instead of plain milk, and used vanilla yogurt because that is all we had. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
excellent! i have been wrestling with mango lassi recipes for years, and this one worked perfectly. Thanks JBravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I used more yogurt and less milk and less ice cubes. I used Libby canned Mango slices with juice and they came out so smooth and perfect. I also added just a few tablespoons of powdered sugar which added a nice sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! We had to substitute soy yogurt and coconut milk for the diary items for allergy reasons but, it turned out to be spectacular!.Definitely a new favorite in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMacVeanAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The quantities are completely wrong in this recipe. It needs either much less mango or more yogurt. Other recipes I found have about a 1-to-1 ratio of these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used Kesar Mango pulp, according to advice given to me from the owner at a local Indian store. This recipe and that ingredient made an excellent mango lassi. Our guests for the meal said they were like the ones at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made it without ice at first, per other reviewers' suggestions - added a few ice cubes to suit my taste, but was fine without. So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States