Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Ok I modified the recipe a bit since I found the last step a bit weird. I added about 1/2 cup milk to a saucepan and warmed it up with 1 cup or so of sharp cheddar and added 9 oz cream cheese instead of velveeta since that is what i had on hand. To that cheese sauce I added some garlic and onion powder to taste with black pepper and sea salt then cooked it 'til I reached the right consistency and poured it in the pasta. The recipe would feed 4 if you used it as a side dish only and not as a main. My son loved it better then any baked mac n cheese I have tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Awesome!! Bump up the pasta amount. Add more cream. Throw on some Italian bread crumbs once u get it plated. Used velveta and shredded cheddar. Fast n easy n awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My husband and I liked this better than any boxed macaroni! I did make some changes, but only because I need to go to the store and didn't have everything. I left the processed cheese out all together because I didn't have any. Instead I used about two cups of shredded Kraft natural sharp cheddar cheese. I used more cream than called for too, but I didn't measure it. After I mixed it up I put it in the oven for about 10 minutes on 400 degrees with some seasoned bread crumbs sprinkled on top. It was very good. I'm never buying boxed macaroni again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenrose1922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Fantastic. I didn't have heavy cream so substituted 3 oz cream cheese and used my skim milk.. still came out great! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSY8856
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Best Mac and Cheese and super easy to make. Kids loved it. I used a box of macaroni and 1 pounds of Velvetta instead and still kept the chedder at 1/2 cup, only because the recipe yielded 4 servings and I have six in my family. I used a 9x13 baker and still have enough for leftovers. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSY8856

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
OMG this is the best Mac and Cheese ever! It is creamy and cheesy, but not overly so. I was asked to make it to bring to Thanksgiving dinner at my friends house and it turned out scrumptious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this for 12 people and it was the easiest,best tasting Mac and Cheese!I added a little more velvetta,sharp cheddar and heavey cream then the recipe called for and it was so creamy and delicious that I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Didn't care for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
i've never been a fan of baked mac and cheese, since i grew up on the box variety. This is better than the box and just as easy to make. I used 2% milk velveeta shredded my own sharp chedder and used whole wheat rotini pasta. Like another reviewer i used a bit of milk instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Not impressed. I wanted to make my entire dinner from scratch, but this would have been better from the box. Baked macaroni and cheese is always better anyway! I am a HUGE mac and cheese fan, and I will definitly not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam
Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States