Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe is really rich (in my opinion). I used milk instead of cream and I added extra milk to see if I could thin the sauce out some and to reduce the richness. I would say this is a good base recipe but might need to be played around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This mac and cheese was rich and creamy. I love the Gourmet Mac and Cheese at Red Robin and decided to try and make it at home. I doubled this recipe and used it as the base mac and cheese then topped it with goat cheese, bacon, grilled chicken breast and crushed croutons. It was pretty close to the restaurant version. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Very good, the family didn't turn their noses up at this as they do with most Mac and Cheese recipes. I made this according to the recipe except that I doubled the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was fast and tasted good. I did make some changes to use what I had on hand. I used 4 slices american cheese in place of velveeta. I used 1 full cup of sharp cheddar cheese. I used 1/4 cup milk in place of the cream. And about 2 1/2 cups pasta. This was great, just as easy to make as box mac and cheese. More like two servings... definately not 4 unless this is a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is very good. We like out Mac and Cheese creamier so I added more cream than the recipe called for. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is definitely a rich dish! I have to agree with the other reviewers that it tastes very similar to Boston Market's mac-n-n-cheese. My husband LOVED this, but I found the sauce to be too thick and sticky. Next time I'll use milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Wonderfully cheesy! Just like you'd get at BostonMarket or something like that... very sticky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This mac and cheese had such a processed taste to it, and there was just too much cheese. If I make this again, I will increase the pasta to 2 cups uncooked and I will reverse the ratio of cheddar to processed cheese. The positive was that it was very quick and easy to prepare! I guess I just don't like the taste of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I am giving this a 5 star because my kids loved it and it was easy....no baking. This is a very good and basic recipe. I have tasted 5 cheese mac that is better. If it is easy and the kids love it what more could I want? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kasick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is a very rich macaroni and cheese! I wish I would have used a nice sharp cheddar in it to offset the flavor of the velveeta, but all I had was a mild shredded cheddar. I don't think I'll make this too frequently, it's so rich it's something you can only eat once in a while, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States