Restaurant Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was very nice, even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
It's a good starter recipe, but it needed a little work. If you're going to make the sauce from scratch then you definitely need to let it simmer for a few hours to have good flavor. Also I used 1 pound of ground turkey (1/2 lb wasn't enough) and almost two 26oz. cans of tomato sauce. I decided to try with jarred sauce and turned out very good. There was enough of the cheese, but i added a little more mozzarella and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Farland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Great sauce starter.... I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also put mushrooms and green pepper and onions in the sauce. I let it cook for about 3 hours and then made the lasagna.I think next time I am going to make a crock pot of it and cook it all day to get all the seasonings soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Ok so this was a very quick and easy recipe. The only thing is I doubled the the meat and even added a little more sauce....It still wasn't enough. I think next time I would do about 2lbs of meat and double the sauce. You have enough of the cheese mixture to make it rhough just not enough of the sauce/meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I like this recipe although I enhanced it with 3 things: 1) 2 cloves of garlic (mmmmmmmmmmmm!) 2) red pepper flakes about a tsp; 3) non-nitrate breakfast sausage. I don't like italian sausage and I can't eat nitrites so I put in about 4 patties of nitrite-free breakfast sausage - DELICIOUS! I realized with some of these recipes that I needed to add my own special touch regardless of whether the recipe called for it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
First time making this. Had a very nice texture and taste. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arundel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I thought this came out very good. I made the mistake of trying to take a short cut & using the "Oven- Ready" lasagna noodles- don't do this! The noodles in the upper layers didn't even cook all the way! I will definitely try making again (boiling my own noodles first, of course) & adding a tad more sauce & meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I used Hunt's tomato sauce and a high quality mozzarella instead of a generic brand and it worked great. I also doubled the meat and used bison instead of beef and added a little more tomato sauce. I find this necessary since meat is not sold in halves of pounds and one large can of tomato sauce is more economical than three small ones. It's more of a homestyle lasagna than a fancy-restaraunt style but it works very well. Will be my new default lasagna recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This is a good recipe to play with. We like even more cheese, we added provolone slices to the top with the parmesan. Also, we like lots of sauce, so we used prepared sauce especially for lasagna. I added half a pound of Italian sausage, too. When I was browning the meats, I added bell peppers, onions, fresh garlic and Italian seasoning. I like adding fresh ingredients where I can. It wasn't overpowering with the prepared sauce. It only added more flavor. You can do lots with this recipe, just don't be afraid to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
VERY WEAK recipe. Not much taste to sauce or meat. Almost entirely a cheese taste. If I went to a restaurant that served this lasagna, I'd send it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States