Restaurant-Style Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Can't believe how easy it is to freshen up a bottle of store bought dressing. I think the key is to start with a good base - I used family style italian from that handsome blue-eyed actor. The sugar took the edge off the acidic tartness you can get from the vinegar. The fresh garlic brightened up the flavor. If I am in a pinch and don't have time to make a homeade dressing - this will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
A great way to jazz up a cheap bottle of dressing from the dented can store. I used half for a salad and half as a marinade for veggie kabobs and pork chops on the grill. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I bought a bottle of dressing from the dollar tree to save myself a trip. Big mistake it was really awful. I jazzed it up with the recipe and threw in a bit of fresh grated parm. Just what it needed now the entire bottle wont go to waste. Nice way to put a fresh spin on something that was blah. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Made it when I had some guest over for dinner. The salad was a HUGE hit! Everyone RAVED about the dressing. super easy and oh soooo tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Just by adding a few extra ingredients took this from being bottled dressing to something pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Genious! Who knew that just a couple of ingredients you have on hand could do so much for a bottle of store bought dressing! I used Kraft light italian dressing and overall, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Mine did not turn out great... maybe my cheap bottled dressing was the culprit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
A recipe for Italian dressing should NOT have Italian dressing in its ingredients list!!! This is not a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States