Restaurant-Style House Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Yes, this is rich and Charlies'/ Pasta House salad. I recommend mixing up the artichokes, onion and pimentos with some of the dressing and letting it sit for 10 minutes or so before mixing and eating- it takes away some of the canned flavor. I usually add a couple shakes of garlic and/or onion powder when I make the dressing (this is how I interpret 'spices' on the label of the bottled dressing sold in stores). I also prefer to add the cheese before I toss everything together, but just be sure not to skimp on the cheese! This is truly one of my favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. I live in St. Louis, and this was one of the first dishes I had when I moved here from Ga. Everyone makes it. Everyone likes it. The cheese makes the salad slightly salty and the pimentos and onion make a very pretty presentation. Be sure and thoroughly drain (I dry them off with a paper towel) the pimentos. I am going to use the blender for the dressing and add a large clove of garlic the next time I make this. Also, a pinch of sugar helps to alleviate too strong a vinegar taste in the dressing, although I like the recipe as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Belz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe, as is, for a work-related food day. EVERYONE loved it! People from other departments that were walking by even stopped to ask if they could have some. Great salad. Very much like any popular St. Louis-based Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tak042

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Excellent salad. Made just as recipe is stated and didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent salad. Everyone had seconds. I made half the amount of dressing for this amount of lettuce and romaine, and that was plenty. I also had a sherry vinegar on hand, and that was a perfect substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Great saladoverall! Went well with lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome salad! I made things a little easier on myself and used bagged salad - a mix of romaine lettuce and iceberg. I played with the dressing just a little bit adding some minced garlic. This is a GREAT base for your favorite add-in's. I added some sun-dried tomatoes and kalamata olives. Simply delicious and perfect with a side of garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Yum! This salad is soooo good! :) My family is from St. Louis, MO. A local restaurant (Rich & Charlie's) is well-known for this salad. In fact, you can purchase bottles of their salad dresing (with their salad recipe printed on the label) at any well-stocked grocer in the St. Louis metro area. When my hubby and I visit family, part of our itinerary includes stopping at the store to stock up lol! Because I had a bottle of the "real" dressing on hand, I skipped that part of BEBBEE's recipe (BTW, R&C's dressing has more that EVOO, vinegar & s/p in it.... Although the label doesn't specify, the "real" recipe appears to contain several different herbs and refers to a "spice blend" on its label). I usually purchase bags of romaine and iceberg lettuce and use half of each to speed prep (much easier this way!). I also use marinated artichoke hearts instead of plain ones (adds more flavor, IMHO). Served alongside three meat cannelloni (MARBALET), Christmas Eve dinner was a spot-on replica of the meal I always order at the local "chain." My mom was in Heaven! My hubby is on the fence about this, but with a little bit of convincing, I think I'll win him over (he's an "Uupper" - Upper Peninsula of MI, that is...). After all, he married into the tradition. :) Thanks for sharing, BEBBEE. It's really neat to see an old favorite on here! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I didn't really care for the salad. The pimentos and artichokes made it taste too much like a salad that sat in brine solution and yes I did drain the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This salad tastes just like Pasta House Salad. I've been making this salad exactly as written for years. It's my daughter Angie's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States