Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe, very much like the one from the famous national restaurant chain. I like a good sharp cheddar for myself and sprinkle a little extra on the top. Also, I like to use green onions, tops included, and lots of them. Also, I've seen a variation that replaces part of the cream of chicken soup with sour cream which I may try sometime. When you put it in the pan it looks like an awful big pile but it cooks down and condenses so you end up with about a third less by volume than it starts out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This was alright. I subbed a cream of soup sub, added some sauerkraut and caraway seeds. I think those additions bumped the flavour up and made this a good pairing with pork chops. All our favourites, but it wasn't something we'd make again. It was a little too greasy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Everyone at our BBQ raved about this recipe, even the picky toddlers. I did make some changes to the recipe as follows: I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken soup. I crisped up some bacon and caramelized some onion in a little bit of the bacon grease. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and mixed all ingredients together the night before, including frozen potato shreds. And finally, I mixed a little bit of melted butter and corn flakes to sprinkle on top because that's how I always are potato casserole growing up. Next time, I will use about 75% of the butter that's called for because it seemed a little too much for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Recipe was easy and quick. I added a little extra cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Just like Caribbean Jack's. My husband said even better, and like Mikey in the old cereal commercial he doesn't like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, Indiana, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Been making this for years. The only change I make is sub green onions for the onions. Everybody loves it. Great for holidays and family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wow!! Delicious. Read the other reviews, but being the first time I tried it, I didn't want to mess with perfection. I will be making it again and again. Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
very tasty, very easy to make! not so healthy but one doesn't really make a hash brown casserole to be healthy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Perfect, easy, delicious! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States