Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Recipe is perfect, made no changes and had no left overs. Love it -- plan on making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellesteve

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This has been my "go-to" cheesy potato recipe ever since discovering it a few years ago. Just realized I hadn't reviewed it before now. It is a crowd pleaser every time. Thanks for sharing,MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I use part cream of chicken and part cream of mushroom soup. Also, I crunch up corn flakes and sprinkle on top adding some of the melted butter so they don't burn when in the oven. I usually double the batch and freeze. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
perfect. instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Had this tonight, followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
very good fairly easy side, my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been using this recipe, with little tweaking, for years and my family can't get enough of it. This is a very good base recipe. A couple of tips for those first trying this - thaw out the hashbrowns before using and mix in a large bowl. I usually mix with my hands - very messy but much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladywenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great basic recipe for one of my favorite comfort-food sides! I will use this again! Here's what I did different: *Did not add additional salt - the condensed soup has plenty. *Cut the butter by about 1/5, or 3 Tbsp - possibly could've cut it more, but was concerned it wouldn't be buttery or creamy enough. *Added about 1 tsp of garlic powder - last minute decision, and I'm not sure how much difference it made, so it was probably just right - Not garlicy. *Thawed, individually, 2 bags of Ore-Ida cubed hashbrown potatoes in the microwave - they weren't completely thawed when I started (note to self: Plan ahead next time!) *Put the butter near the warm oven to soften - didn't soften properly like it would if I planned this several hours in advance ;), and it was more difficult to mix in w/ the other ingredients. *I doubled the cooking time, let it cool a bit, refrigerated, and then reheated for another 45 minutes the following day before taking it over to my Mom's. I had some nice crispy cheese around the edges - who doesn't love that?? *I doubled this recipe for 8 guests, and had well over half leftover. Maybe it says more about my cooking, but I think the number of servings for a single recipe could be changed to 6-8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made this a couple of times and it is absolute the best! I made a couple of different changes. I used a package of Potato-Ole Seasoned Crispy Crowns and cooked them by the directions on the package. And then chopped them up. I grated some 1/3 less fat velveta cheese instead of cheddar. And I used the one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom. Finally, I used Light Sour Cream and Corn Flakes. It's awesome. My wife and I could eat it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HFDprototype

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great dish, I did however make a few modifications based on other reviews. Used only 1/4 cup butter, one can cream of chicken and mushroom soup (although I doubt it matters which you use) and added 8oz of sour cream to the mixture. Added some cheese to the mix and then some on top. Tasted good, everyone seemed to enjoy it. Next time I make it I will try adding cornflake mixture to the top for crunch. Also want to try adding sausage crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States