Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have tried on so many levels to like this but I just can't. I first made it for my parents with an eggs benedict breakfast. Tho the potatos were thawed the were still crunchy and the onion was still crunchy. Anticipating this, I cooked at 375 for 45 min. Thinking I did something wrong, I tried it again at a later date, but first nuking the hashbrowns. Still, crunchy and not in a good way. I highly suggest sauteing the onions and upping the temp and time for this recipe, or find another one. I'm having it as leftovers as I type and it's been nuked AGAIN, and it's all still crunchy. This dish should be creamy, smooth, and comforting. As written, isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We prefer Mom's scalloped potatoes. This recipe uses cream soup and isn't like our scalloped potates or Cracker Barrel's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Dace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I use cream of celery and add 8 oz of sour cream and the shredded hash browns! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Marino Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a big hit on Easter Sunday, but I doubled the recipe and added 16 oz of low fat sour cream. Also used a can each of cream of chicken and cream of celery soups. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Almost too greasy to eat but the flavor is pretty good. I used green onions instead of regular - it's all I had. I spooned 8 tablespoons of grease off the top. Way too much for me. Maybe less cheeseore butter next time and/or an added starchy ingredient to absorb the grease. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Do not add corn flakes! That's just weird! We are a vegetarian family(not vegan!!) and we exchange the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom, add a cup of sour cream, cut the butter in half and cut the salt all together. Delicious! I'm sure it's just as wonderful as is, but we exchange all animal flesh for veggies per personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I loved this! At first I thought it wasn't going to be too good because of the cream of chicken, but you really can't even taste it. I'm a huge fan of hash brown casserole and this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Another comfort food favorite! If you are in the mood this hits the spot! I did add a little milk to make it creamier! Had no complaints just compliments and full bellies! This is a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this with boxed hash browns. I cooked them about half way according to the package. Then I followed these directions and these came out great. Very tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is amazing! I've brought it to work a few times and everyone raves about it. The only thing I add is crushed corn flakes on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States