Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Awesome! I halved the potatoes and onion, used only 2 T butter, some dried parsley, just a bit of fresh ground pepper, a pinch of sea salt, some dried parsley and used butter to grease the pan (8 x 8). I used the whole can of soup and 8 oz cheese rather than half and topped with a 1/4 cup of panko/parmesan (an 1/8th C each) for the crust. I cooked for 45 minutes but I think and hour would have been even better! A keeper for sure! Made it as a side to a juicy grilled steak! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I added 2 cans of green beans to the mix and on the bottom of the casserole dish I put boneless skinless chicken thighs with the potato mix on top. It took a while longer to cook but my whole family loved it and I will be making it again. There is something to be said about a dinner that 3 toddlers all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A real favorite at our house and restaurant! I added a few more spices (salt pepper garlic powder)and make sure I melt a bit of shredded cheddar on top when I serve it - otherwise it is a keeper just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have tried on so many levels to like this but I just can't. I first made it for my parents with an eggs benedict breakfast. Tho the potatos were thawed the were still crunchy and the onion was still crunchy. Anticipating this, I cooked at 375 for 45 min. Thinking I did something wrong, I tried it again at a later date, but first nuking the hashbrowns. Still, crunchy and not in a good way. I highly suggest sauteing the onions and upping the temp and time for this recipe, or find another one. I'm having it as leftovers as I type and it's been nuked AGAIN, and it's all still crunchy. This dish should be creamy, smooth, and comforting. As written, isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We prefer Mom's scalloped potatoes. This recipe uses cream soup and isn't like our scalloped potates or Cracker Barrel's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Dace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I use cream of celery and add 8 oz of sour cream and the shredded hash browns! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a big hit on Easter Sunday, but I doubled the recipe and added 16 oz of low fat sour cream. Also used a can each of cream of chicken and cream of celery soups. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Almost too greasy to eat but the flavor is pretty good. I used green onions instead of regular - it's all I had. I spooned 8 tablespoons of grease off the top. Way too much for me. Maybe less cheeseore butter next time and/or an added starchy ingredient to absorb the grease. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Do not add corn flakes! That's just weird! We are a vegetarian family(not vegan!!) and we exchange the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom, add a cup of sour cream, cut the butter in half and cut the salt all together. Delicious! I'm sure it's just as wonderful as is, but we exchange all animal flesh for veggies per personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I loved this! At first I thought it wasn't going to be too good because of the cream of chicken, but you really can't even taste it. I'm a huge fan of hash brown casserole and this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States