Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for church today and it was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe and used the hashbrowns from the dairy case rather than the frozen kind. I sauteed the onions before adding them to the casserole, and I used the cream of chicken soup with herbs. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
The butter made it a little greasy for me. I think I'll leave it out next time and use sour cream. Overall, a great side dish (we served with a roast chicken on a rain day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njthayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
So I have made this a few times and to be honest, I think that the recipe on the side of the hashbrowns I buy is better. I won't be making it again, its not bad at all but its just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
these are always a hit at my dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Try adding 1 tsp of ground mustard for a little zip, but it doesn't need it to be perfectly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pioneer, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! We are not big onion fans, so I cut that out and added a tablespoon of granulated onion and a couple of tables spoons of fresh garlic. The cheese and soup are salty enough, so I did not add any salt. I also used light margerine and reduced fat cream of chicken to make this heavy dish a little lighter on calories! I also used half of the hashbrowns since others said the recipe was "dry" and using 1 pound was perfect. The only thing that confuses me is that it says it yields 4-6 servings...we found that it was around 16 servings (if you don't gorge yourself) and that is way to much for me and my husband. I will be cutting it down to half pound of potatoes next time, along with cutting everything else in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe. I follow the recipe as written except that I do add a 16oz carton of sour cream and a splash of milk to the mixture before cooking. It is so cheesy, creamy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Anything with potatoes, onions and cream soups I love! I thought it was a little thick so next time I will add some milk just to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good! My husband said that he'd prefer it without onions though. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belldandy34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Awesome! I halved the potatoes and onion, used only 2 T butter, some dried parsley, just a bit of fresh ground pepper, a pinch of sea salt, some dried parsley and used butter to grease the pan (8 x 8). I used the whole can of soup and 8 oz cheese rather than half and topped with a 1/4 cup of panko/parmesan (an 1/8th C each) for the crust. I cooked for 45 minutes but I think and hour would have been even better! A keeper for sure! Made it as a side to a juicy grilled steak! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States