Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Loved it, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelksr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this stuff. This version is undoubtedly tasty. But I have to say that I prefer the recipe the times I've made it with a slight modification. I substitute half the amount of butter with sour cream. TRY IT! Also, this may seem like a minor thing but if you're not a good onion dicer, I'd suggest giving them a very quick sauté before adding them. Especially if you have an eater who nitpicks about onions in recipes. FINELY diced raw onions are a must with this version b/c the cooking time is just basically heating things up, not really cooking the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coletteellender
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great and easy recipe. I cooked it for about 10-15 mins longer to make them more crispy. I also added a little bit of heavy cream to it, I'm sure milk would have worked too. Just to make them a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is so easy and very good! I made these with fresh shredded potatoes done by hand. My only mistake is that I forgot to rinse the potatoes once they've been shredded so the casserole had a very potatoey taste. Next time I'll rinse them and the review again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pedro
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I had hash brown casserole at a restaurant a while back & thought "this is great I should try making it." Thnx to this recipe I have & its a family favorite. We've tried it for breakfast, lunch & dinner worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I liked it alot but I added a little twist...I added milk,a jar of loaded baked potatoe dip wit bacon to add extra flavor and extra creaminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yum! Such an easy recipe with great flavor. Great for breakfast or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Always a favorite of mine! Good if u thaw out tater tots and crumble them instead of hash browns. Always a hit! I throw in a tad of garlic or garlic powder and bake a few min more for a crispy top and corners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have never liked Hashbrown Casserole, not even Cracker Barrels, I won't eat it. My husband on the other hand loves it. So I wanted to try my hand at making one of his favorite side dishes, and I came across this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed. My husband LOVED it. I tried it, and well... I loved it too, now this HB Casserole I will eat. No changes needed for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used this recipe, but added 8oz sour cream, substituted the cheddar cheese for shredded Colby Jack cheese and 1/2 cup of Velveeta cheese, substituted cream of chicken soup for cheddar cheese soup, used sweet onion (Vidalia), and sprinkled smokey paprika on top. I had to cook it 15 mins longer than 35 mins as the recipe calls for maybe becase I added extra cheese and sour cream). My recipe tasted much better than Cracker Barrel's. The difference is that mine came out creamy & cheesy, but not too cheesy. Cracker Barrel's tends to be much firmer and dryer. Im thinking that they aren't using sour cream, maybe they use milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States