Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Way too much butter in this recipe, I'd recommend using half the amount suggested. I'm not so sure you could call this a restaurant-quality dish, unless you make some major tweaks. Otherwise, it provides a decent base recipe to build upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I can say is blech. I've never had this in a restaurant or even tried anything similar so this was a new dish for me. Mushy hash browns drowned in an overly cheesy and heavy sauce, no thank you. Made exactly like the recipe except I used less butter, and I can't see how that would have affected it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very good recipe. I cut the butter in half, left out the salt and added about a 1/4 cup of milk and 8 oz of sour cream. I also added a can of cream of celery (i love the flavor) and used sharp cheddar because that's all I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Super yummy! I implemented some changes based on other user reviews and I absolutely loved the idea of substituting the butter for sour cream. It makes it so much lighter without sacrificing the flavor. I also use cream of mushroom soup simply because I'm vegetarian and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made exactly as stated and we loved them. I had seconds and when I went for the leftovers my hunny had already ate them all. I will defiantly be making again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
My hubby really enjoyed this! I had some at a local restaurant, and just had to try a similar recipe and this was close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I accidentally omitted the salt and was surprised that it wasn't even needed! I also cut the butter down to 1/3 c. It tasted great! I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Only thing I did different is use left over baked potatoes instead of frozen hashbrowns. I peele them, put them through the salad shooter, and fried them up a bit. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I made this basically as directed, omitted the onion because I can't stand them O:-) and I added a panko/melted butter crumb topping so it hade some texture, upped it to 400 degrees and cooked it for an additional 10 minutes until it browned. It was good, I would make it again. Kind of heavy for a side, could use something to lighten it up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
As is, I give this four stars. After reading reviews and using 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup low sodium chicken broth, and cutting the salt to 1/2 teaspoon, my family gives this five stars. I had to bake it for close to an hour though, covering the baking dish with foil the last 15 minutes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States