Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love Cracker Barrel hashbrown casserole and this is better. I did make some changes, such as omitting the onion and adding about 1/2 cup of plain, Greek yogurt (for the tang of sour cream without the fat)and used Colby-Jack cheese instead of cheddar. I mixed it all the night before, with the potatoes frozen, straight from the bag. Sprayed a 13x9 stoneware dish and spooned it in. Pressed it down, very lightly, covered with foil and refrigerated overnight. The next morning I took it out and set it at room temp for about 2 hours. Then baked uncovered, as directed, adding about 10 min to the bake time. It was sooo good and SO gone, quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added about 1/2 cup sour cream. I baked for about 40 minutes and it still could have used more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A very simple recipe to follow, easy to tweak to your own liking. As is, it is very good, but a little bland for my preferences. I added garlic and sweet corn to this recipe, AMAZING! Was a great side dish for biscuits and gravy. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was exactly what I was hoping for! I used cream of mushroom soup since that's what I had and loved it! The onions were definitely noticeable but in no way overpowering. I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs with melted butter for the topping. Thanks for the great recipe; I'll be making this for Thanksgiving as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We add 8 oz sour cream to this exact recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time this week. My family loved it. I did not have frozen hash browns so I put fresh potatoes thru a course grater on my food processor. It took abit longer to cook - 1 hour 15 minutes but it was worth the wait. It was even better on day 2. This is now my family's favorite way to have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a tasty recipe and very worth making. I used heavy cream in place of the soup because I don't use canned soups and I didn't have any of my own on hand. There was still plenty of flavor and it was nice and creamy. Now I don't have to wait in line at cracker Barrel when I want hash brown casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My whole family loved this exactly as prepared. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We finished this casserole in 3 meals. If this recipe came from a restaurant, let me know which one because we have been eating breakfast in the wrong place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the cheesy hashbrowns I remember from when I was growing up. They were ever present at family potlucks! I used Ore-Ida hashbrowns and switched the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom. These baked great and tasted just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States