Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We add 8 oz sour cream to this exact recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time this week. My family loved it. I did not have frozen hash browns so I put fresh potatoes thru a course grater on my food processor. It took abit longer to cook - 1 hour 15 minutes but it was worth the wait. It was even better on day 2. This is now my family's favorite way to have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a tasty recipe and very worth making. I used heavy cream in place of the soup because I don't use canned soups and I didn't have any of my own on hand. There was still plenty of flavor and it was nice and creamy. Now I don't have to wait in line at cracker Barrel when I want hash brown casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My whole family loved this exactly as prepared. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We finished this casserole in 3 meals. If this recipe came from a restaurant, let me know which one because we have been eating breakfast in the wrong place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the cheesy hashbrowns I remember from when I was growing up. They were ever present at family potlucks! I used Ore-Ida hashbrowns and switched the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom. These baked great and tasted just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I love hashbrown casserole, but, as written, this recipe only deserves three stars, and that's only for its potential. The first time I prepared it, it turned out greasy and dry at the same time, even though that might seem like an oxymoron, and it was also very bland. The second time I made it, I halved the butter and added another can of cream of chicken and three generous splashes of milk -- if I had to guess, I'd say it was close to 1/2 a cup or so. I also added way more black pepper and a smidgen of garlic powder, and it turned out more like a 4-star recipe -- nothing I would necessarily serve for company, but a nice accompaniment to a weeknight meatloaf for BF and I. Overall, I like the premise of this recipe and think it's great to play around with, but I think you will be disappointed with the results if you follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I made one small change because I refuse to eat canned soup. Instead of cream of chicken soup I used plain Fage greek yogurt. Treat out excellent and has the tangy taste of sour cream with out all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is NOT Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole IT'S BETTER!!!! My husband loves Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole, and in his words "This is A LOT Better than Cracker Barrel's HB Casserole" As for myself I have never liked CB's Hashbrown Casserole, BUT I really liked this and will make it again especially around the holidays. As mentioned by one reviewer, next time I will not use as much onion, but other than that a SIMPLY GREAT RECIPE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Quite bland. Didn't even taste the soup that was added to it. Quite dry. To make this recipe work - more liquid (soup/milk) and seasonings should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States