Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I go to cracker barrel every other morning for the hash brown casserole so I definitely know what it taste like. This recipe hit it on the nail. It taste just like the restaurant! I am very happy!!! I did make some adjustments based on other reviews. I used 1/4 cup butter so it wouldn't be too greasy, 1/2 tsp salt so it's not too salty, and shredded Colby cheese. It turned out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe is good but very greasy. I cut the butter down to about 2-3 tbs and add 8oz of sour cream. I also started using cream of potato instead of cream of chicken soup. I just got tired of picking out all the little chicken pieces from the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe works much better if you use (1) one lb bag of hash browns. I think that's why some people are complaining of it being dry. Also I used a 4 tbsp of butter. Instead of chopping up onion and running the risk that hubby would flip out, I grated about 1 tbsp of onion. Potatoes and onions are good buddies and next time I will actually chop up the onion and saute it a little in a pan, then add it to the mixture. I used Campbells healthy request cream of chicken to cut back on salt, I also didn't add any salt. I only put in maybe 1/2 cup of cheese, hubby is not a big cheese fan. But I will increase it next time. I added 1 spoonful of sour cream. I baked it @ 350 covered (with foil) for 30 min and then baked uncovered for another 30. It was not dried out and not greasy. It did lack flavor but I had to make changes due my husband and his preferences. Potatoes need a lot of love and I will be sure to add more onion, increase the cheese and maybe use regular cream of chicken soup, instead of the healthy request, the next time I make this. Definitely a comfort food and one I am happy to add to my rotation. I made this with pork chops and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made it for dinner last week and everyone loved it!!! I added some sour cream as previous reviewer recommended. And also used less of the cheddar and shredded some fontina cheese and butterkaese, as I needed to use those up. This could very easy be made with macaroni noodles for Mac n cheese casserole as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Yummy & so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I was craving some Cracker Barrel hashbrown casserole, and this did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
FINALLY! This is the perfect recipe. I've been searching for this for years. Always tried the ones with sour cream- I think the trick to the true taste is NO sour cream. It's perfect! My husband is very happy to eat this any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This tastes even better than Cracker Barrel! Try baking it a little longer than called for. Maybe 5 minutes extra. Colby cheese does give it a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Not quite Cracker Barrel quality, but tasty. I used 3 Tbsp. of butter and 8 oz. of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Just made this for supper to go with our BBQ ribs. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States