Restaurant-Style French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We often joke about writing a guide to who makes the best French onion soups and this would be at the top of the list. Add mushrooms to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Great recipe!!! We love French onion soup and we make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this for a cold sunday dinner. One of the best recipes I have tried for french onion soup! The whole family loved it!! I added another half of a quart of beef broth just to extend the recipe a bit more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SharPrat68
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
First ever shot at making FOS. Found this recipe easy and yummy! Used half beef stock and half onion stock and probably more garlic than was called for! A great comfort meal for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I thought that this was excellent. It has a great flavor and warms the soul on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used 6 large onions - 3 red and 3 yellow and omitted the wine because I used homemade beef stock with red wine as an ingredient. The cooking times for the onions was longer - nearly 1 hour 15 minutes. With onion soup, I think it is more important to pay attention to the onions than to monitor time (look for carmelization in the first stage, and boil off most of the liquid during the second stage). I also omitted the flour because the stock did not require a thickening agent. I used about 1/2 cup of sherry to deglaze Very good, but I highly recommend making beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I've tried quite a few recipes and this one is the richest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
So savory and delicious!!!! I could eat this every night and be a happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I used regular yellow onions and a dry (cheap)red wine and it turned out great. I also used the cooking sherry but next time might leave that out OR buy a good sherry at the liquor store. I agree with other reviews that the onions did need a little longer to cook than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States