Restaurant-Style Extra Crispy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I've never made fried chicken before, and this was just what I was looking for! I always marinate poultry in a salt water solution before I make it (big difference, much more juicy), so I knew Doreen knew what she was talking about. Thank you for such a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I breaded chicken strips for wraps with this. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
This was great! It is much better than regular fried chicken. I did add some more spices, celery salt, paprika, chicken seasoning and a dash of creole seasoning. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I searched long and hard for a good fried chicken recipe. This one is it. I agree with Janice, the only extra thing it needs is a few more spices in the batter. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
The recipe is delicious but, I will not make again. I just cannot get past the mess that frying bone-in chicken in oil makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
5 stars ***** Chicken has delicious crunchy, crispy crust. Marinade makes chicken meat extra tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
I used this recipe for 120 servings and everyone raved about the chicken. I will use this recipe from now on. One thing I had to add was more flour because of the flour getting wet when you roll the wet chicken. To say again we love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
The marinade really made a difference-the chicken was extra tender. Actually the whole cooking method was great. The only addition I made was to the spices; I increased the pepper and added 1 teas. each of paprika, garlic powder, dry mustard and poultry seasoning. No matter how you like your chicken seasoned and breaded, the marinade will make a difference. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I tried it today. It was so good. Instead of dipping the chicken to the flour for the first time, I shook it in a brown bag. For a kick, I added some creole seasoning and chili powder to the flour mixture. Since I don't have a deep fryer or meat thermometer, I cooked the chicken in medium heat for the first two minutes and low heat for the rest. The salt water marination and msg really did the trick! kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Great recipe that was easy to prepare. My kids loved it as the coating was real crisp and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fried Chicken

See great techniques for making crispy fried chicken.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States