Restaurant-Style Extra Crispy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made this with chicken breast strips for wraps. Family loved it. Added 1tbsp Creole seasoning to the flour mix for added flavor. Next time I make this, will separate flour mixture for pre and post egg dip as flour turned doughy after the first few pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
The method of soaking it in salt water kept the chicken very moist after frying that was fantastic! However the coating was not crisp enough at all . I had to coat in breadcrumbs and then it was very nice. I served it with baked potatoes with cheese and bacon and a dip made with BBQ sauce and a little chilli sauce and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used this recipe and it rivaled my mom's fried chicken. I just placed the chicken in a bowl and let it sit on a counter to marinade to bring it to room temp, this brings better results when cooking any meat. When it was done marinating, I put it in a large bowl added a quarter cup of hot sauce, some pappy's choice seasoning and McCormick's hot shot pepper, after each piece was covered, dropped in a bag of flour one-at-a-time and shake to completely cover and then place in medium-high oil until they were golden brown and crispy. There is no need to double dip, they are coated to perfection when you do it like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Very good, crispy batter, moist chicken, although I had to lower the heat, as the hot oil started to burn the batter. I would add more spices too. But good recipe to use as a base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
haven't tried this yet but I'm wondering what the heck is monosodium glutamate and what aisle of the grocery store is it on? I know sodium is salt but yeah I'll probably try it without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Truly makes a crispy shell and juicy meat. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because the coating as written is very bland, need to add some seasonings to the flour mix. A helpful tip, split the flour mix in half, use 1 half for the dry chicken and 1 half for after you dip into the egg/milk mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I cooked this for my family tonight. I did, however, use chicken strips instead of bone-in chicken. My 5 yr old son had been especially picky all this week ,but tonight he ate three large pieces of chicken!!!! Kids will love this chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Copperhill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This chicken was awesome! I used some of my own spices, but I'd never done fried chicken before and this was super simple. I can't wait to do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I worked in the 'famous restaurant chain' when I was 16. This recipe is probably as close as we can get at home. They use magic and they wear visors. All in all, with the tools and ingredients we have available, this is a great recipe - recommended! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States