Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this today and liked it very much. Needs scallions for texture and crunch and could be a little thicker. Used homemade broth made with some star anise which added extra flavor. Very good, quick and low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've made this quite a few times and we love it. It's nice to have something you can throw together quickly in a pinch. I added some rice noodles and peas last time and it tasted strikingly similar to Ramen. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Simple,fast and taste better than what I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I liked it. It was simple and fast. Buuut I put in about 1/2 the amount of the cornstarch mixture, and I could taste it. Would have preferred it without any of the mixture. Egg Drop Soup is normally runny anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious! I did not have ginger on hand so I substituded with garlic. I would love to try it with ginger though. Also, for added nutrients, I put in about 1 cup of mixed vegetables. This recipe is just what I was looking for. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My daughter made this, her first time and it was great!! She is just starting to cook, followed the steps exactly as you wrote them and we will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetatforty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Not a bad recipe to start with, but it's a little plain. I added 2tbsp of salt and 1tsp of curry powder & cayenne. Really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Pretty good. I added soy sauce and a titch of tumeric, and garnished each bowl with chopped chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
None of us thought this tasted like the egg drop soup we get at Chinese restaurants, but we all really enjoyed it. The flavor was great and the thickness of the soup was just right. The only negative thing about it is there's really too much egg. I doubled the recipe, so next time I think I'll just leave out one of the whole eggs and see how much difference that makes. I followed the recommendations of several other reviewers and thickened the soup before adding the eggs, which made the eggs cook into the nice ribbons like you see in restaurant soup. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My Chinese exchange student declared this to taste just like at home! I omitted the ginger because I didn't realize until too late that I was out. Also, as other reviewers suggested, I added the eggs last. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States