Restaurant Style Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Finally! An egg custard that replicates what I get at the cafeteria. It is delicious. Last time I made I just wanted the custard, no pastry so increased the recipe by 1/3rd and poured in greased 9x9 glass pan and placed in larger pan with water, baked for about 10 minutes longer than original recipe. Delicious - made less than 12 hours ago, almost gone! THANK YOU to whoever posted this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good ingredients, but bottom crust will not bake in the allotted 20 min in the oven. If you like gummy, uncooked crust go for it. I bake my crust in the microwave for 3 minutes, let it cool and then fill and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christiane
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
LOVE this recipe! What a great treat! Better than my custard :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
PIE DOES NOT FIT IN A REGULAR 9 INCH PIE CRUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MUST USE DEEP DISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Stephanie, For many years I have tried to duplicate the recipe that Morrison's Cafeteria used. Your reciep is as close as I have seen. While working for Morrison's, I weighed the ingredients and I would watch our Pastry Chef at Mobile's Springdale Plaza location, Sarah, do the same steps you have outlined in your recipe. I have just finished a warm slice, and agree that you have ended my search. This recipe is as close as you can get to the real thing. GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arab, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is so easy and such a delicious pie like my Mother use to make! I have to cook mine 50 minutes for it to be done and able to check it with a knife to come out clean. My husband absolutely loves this dessert when I make, going to make one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this was so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegaleg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knox, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband's mother used to make custard pies for him all the time but she passed away before I met him. I mixed and matched a few recipes I found on here and I liked this one the best. However, I actually prefer a sweeter pie. So instead of 2 cups whole milk, I put 1 1/2 cup whole milk and half cup sweetened condensed milk, mixed them together and it was a little thicker and sweeter that way. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is delightful! I added a few dashes of nutmeg for extra flavor. If it turned out "eggy" for some reviewers, maybe adding the hot milk very slowly to the egg mixture will prevent the egg from solidifying (cooking). It doesn't look done when you take it out of the oven, but it immediately "sets" when it cools off a little. My daughter and I just had a warm slice and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States