Restaurant Style Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Good job Stehpanie. I have been looking for an egg custard recipe like this. It wasn't too sweet. I loved the texture. Here is a tip when combining a hot liquid to an egg mixture. While stirring very quickly, add some of the egg mixture to the hot milk. Then pour the milk into the egg mixture(keep stirring). This keeps the eggs from cooking and turning into scrambled eggs. Personally, I think this dessert is best served completely cold. Next time I might try adding a little almond extract to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I whipped this up last night as a snack before bed. I used coconut milk and left out the butter and salt. I poured this into a greased pie plate (no crust) and baked it at 350 for about an hour. I stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes afterwards until it was cool enough to eat. It turned out really good and was quick enough that I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have not made this recipe yet, but just a tip when working with eggs and any hot liquid you must always temper your eggs.Just add a bit of the hot liquid and whisk it in then slowly add the rest of the hot liquid this will stop you from getting the scrambled egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef at Home

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that recreated the egg custard pie of Morrison's cafeteria. This was a good pie, but not quite how I remember the cafeteria pie--granted, it's been a long time. I concur with those who note how eggy the pie was. Perhaps its a silly observation as one cannot have custard without eggs, but I'm now looking for a three egg recipe to see how that works. Also, I was uncomfortable with the idea of boiling the milk (and I wasn't sure of the point of boiling it), so I scalded it instead. I didn't cover the crust because I didn't leave much exposed. I set my time for 30 minutes because the oven wasn't quite heated up when I put the pie in--and I nearly burned the top. While the top had brown splotches, the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was okay...too much of an eggy taste. I tasted scrambled egg all the way. If you like eggs this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was as close to perfect as any recipe can get. It is not overly sweet. So, if you are used to a very sweet custard you'd want to increase the sugar. I did not get a scrambled egg taste at all. The crust and the top came out very brown but my oven temperature is off and I may not have set it properly. I'll watch and make adjustments the next time I bake this pie. Thanks for a great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joni470
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband's mother used to make custard pies for him all the time but she passed away before I met him. I mixed and matched a few recipes I found on here and I liked this one the best. However, I actually prefer a sweeter pie. So instead of 2 cups whole milk, I put 1 1/2 cup whole milk and half cup sweetened condensed milk, mixed them together and it was a little thicker and sweeter that way. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This recipe was easy to follow and easy to make. When I cut into it I found that the crust had risen to the top of the pie and the custard was on the bottom. This left the crust moist. Still enjoyable. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I am a custard lover and this was just not for me. It tasted like french toast and did not have that "custard" consistency that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
PIE DOES NOT FIT IN A REGULAR 9 INCH PIE CRUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MUST USE DEEP DISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States