Restaurant Style Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was okay...too much of an eggy taste. I tasted scrambled egg all the way. If you like eggs this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I am a custard lover and this was just not for me. It tasted like french toast and did not have that "custard" consistency that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I whipped this up last night as a snack before bed. I used coconut milk and left out the butter and salt. I poured this into a greased pie plate (no crust) and baked it at 350 for about an hour. I stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes afterwards until it was cool enough to eat. It turned out really good and was quick enough that I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This recipe was easy to follow and easy to make. When I cut into it I found that the crust had risen to the top of the pie and the custard was on the bottom. This left the crust moist. Still enjoyable. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Good job Stehpanie. I have been looking for an egg custard recipe like this. It wasn't too sweet. I loved the texture. Here is a tip when combining a hot liquid to an egg mixture. While stirring very quickly, add some of the egg mixture to the hot milk. Then pour the milk into the egg mixture(keep stirring). This keeps the eggs from cooking and turning into scrambled eggs. Personally, I think this dessert is best served completely cold. Next time I might try adding a little almond extract to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I was looking for a recipe that recreated the egg custard pie of Morrison's cafeteria. This was a good pie, but not quite how I remember the cafeteria pie--granted, it's been a long time. I concur with those who note how eggy the pie was. Perhaps its a silly observation as one cannot have custard without eggs, but I'm now looking for a three egg recipe to see how that works. Also, I was uncomfortable with the idea of boiling the milk (and I wasn't sure of the point of boiling it), so I scalded it instead. I didn't cover the crust because I didn't leave much exposed. I set my time for 30 minutes because the oven wasn't quite heated up when I put the pie in--and I nearly burned the top. While the top had brown splotches, the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kshi86
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
custard doesn't really taste like the egg custards i've had..it's..i thought it was over cooked..like scrambled egg..kind of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kshi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
It was so fantastic. I love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This pie is impressive. I liker the fact that it was quick and easy to make. However my version had a few minor tweaks. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream and one cup of milk. I also added a 1 1/2 tablespoons of flou, oh yeah, and a graham cracker crust.....MMmmmm... just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe was fun to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States