Restaurant Style Egg Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is delightful! I added a few dashes of nutmeg for extra flavor. If it turned out "eggy" for some reviewers, maybe adding the hot milk very slowly to the egg mixture will prevent the egg from solidifying (cooking). It doesn't look done when you take it out of the oven, but it immediately "sets" when it cools off a little. My daughter and I just had a warm slice and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I have not made this recipe yet, but just a tip when working with eggs and any hot liquid you must always temper your eggs.Just add a bit of the hot liquid and whisk it in then slowly add the rest of the hot liquid this will stop you from getting the scrambled egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef at Home

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was as close to perfect as any recipe can get. It is not overly sweet. So, if you are used to a very sweet custard you'd want to increase the sugar. I did not get a scrambled egg taste at all. The crust and the top came out very brown but my oven temperature is off and I may not have set it properly. I'll watch and make adjustments the next time I bake this pie. Thanks for a great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joni470
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Good... Quick and easy, taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was ok. My sister-in-law made an "egg pie" for a dinner at her house and I was trying to duplicate it. Hers was so delicious! This pie didn't come close. I'll have to get her recipe and pass it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I have made this recipe over 20 times now and it struck me funny this last Christmas, I had somebody actually order 4 of them from me. I thought I may have started a new Business! LOL~Now I am starting up again......I see a Trend! So, in review~~EGG~CELENT pie. I was looking for this recipe to make, because I had it years ago and nobady ever talked about it any more and I wanted to start a new tradition, or make one of my own for the table! Don't change a thing! It is PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Rose Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Baxley, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used this mixture to make Frenc toast, the girls loved it......Daddy Ron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
i am making food for my grandad and he will love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
iwe loved the custard pie. i followed the instructions except i did have to add a few sprinkles of nutmeg, thats the way i rember my grandmother hadmad it. Its so quick and easy I don't know why I haven't thought to make this mor often, I sure will now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
i fount this egg custard and yes i tried it. I was cooking it for thanksgiving but it got ate, so i had to cook more of them. It is a great recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Whitesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States