Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was okay. Not the best I've ever had (not "zingy" enough), but a solid recipe and non-offensive. It does get a tad runny; just drain some of the liquid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
When I was mixing up everything, started having doubts about the recipe. Boy was I wrong! This cole slaw recipe was WONDERFUL! My husband is picky about not wanting too sweet of taste. He LOVED this! I've never made cole slaw...he kept asking me-- are you sure YOU made it and didn't buy it pre-made? What a compliment! Followed recipe as written and would highly recommend this recipe! I did make it in the morning and left it all day in the refrigerator. Think that probably improved the taste. Thanks for posting this recipe!! Now one of our fav "go to" recipes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Make this all the time. Found it got really runny so I replace the buttermilk with a 1/4 c. of sour cream. I also up the ground pepper amount cause we're pepper people...but this is a hot every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pretty darned good. I, too, thought it was a little sweet but since we are using it mainly to top off some tangy pulled pork sandwiches it adds a nice flavour. If I were making this a strictly a side salad, I would cut back just a little on the sugar and perhaps add a little more vinegar. But this recipe DOES deliver as advertised.... tasted like popular restaurant coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I was looking for a way to use up a half head if cabbage. So I finely shredded the cabbage and added diced carrots. Then followed the remainder of the recipe. Very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I tried it and loved it! It's the first coleslaw dressing that I've ever liked! I'm not a fan of sugar but have to admit that in this recipe it works. This will be my "go-to" coleslaw recipe from now on. Way to go, Marsha! - Suzie Smith, Oneonta, AL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oneonta, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Of all the dishes brought to the party my dish was the only one where someone said who made the coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I usually read the reviews and then decide on where I'm going to go with the recipe. It was made as written and was excellent. The recipe didn't say dried or fresh minced onion. I used fresh red onion. Made my own buttermilk. For a half cup ( recipe calls for 1/4 cup ) put a half tablespoon vinegar into a half cup of milk and stir well ). It's the best from scratch made slaw I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made it according to the directions, it was delish! For a larger batch I would use 2 bags of slaw mix and make 1 1/2 times the dressing. It was a little runny, but I'd prefer that to having it be dry. It was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
It is the best homemade cole slaw I've eaten. Adding drained pineapple chunks would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Gumaer Tyhurst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States