Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
If you love the chicken scampi at the Olive Garden, this isn't quite it, but it's not bad for an at home knock off either. As many reviewers have said, it's a little bland, so go ahead and spice it up with some extra garlic and whatever other italian spices you prefer. Using chicken broth instead of the reserved pasta water helped add a bit more flavor. You'll definitely want to either halve the pasta or double the sauce, depending on how many you're feeding. It would be much too dry as written. I'm sure homemade alfredo sauce would make this fabulous, but that's more work than I'm looking for unless it's a very special occasion! Overall, my family really enjoyed this dish. Even my 3 and 6 year olds cleaned their plates. Just don't expect that you're getting an exact replica of the Olive Garden's dish. If you want that, head out for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I really liked this. 4 stars b/c it needed a little bit more punch. Next time i will try adding the lemon juice to it...a tad bland...but all my guests absolutely loved it and cleaned their plates. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I read the reviews, and a bunch of them said this was kind of bland... so I seasoned the flour (italian seasoning, salt, garlic powder), added more chopped garlic plus salt and pepper to the veggies. I also served the pasta (angel hair - all I had!) on the side with a drizzle of the sauce (left out most of the reserved pasta water). Even with all of my changes, it was still a bit bland. 4* for my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great recipe, though I did make my own Alfredo sauce. (I hate that stuff in the jar! Ick!) I just mixed a few Tblsp of butter with a few Tblsp of flour and stired in a sauce pan untill crumbly. I then added about 2 cups of light cream (Heavy cream is better, but I always feel guilty *LoL*) I finished it off with a 1/4 good dry white wine, and 4 large crushed garlic cloves. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I work for the popular Italian restaurant and the dish I recommend the most, my favorite, is the Chicken Scampi. This recipe is perfect for achieving the same dish at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This dish was beautiful to look at, but very bland tasting. Definitely needs more garlic and spices...maybe also cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was Ok nothing fantastic chicken is bland, add some spices to the flour it will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Needed quite a bit of "doctoring" - definately needs ALOT more garlic. I also added about 1 cup of grated romano cheese (from the block) and it really helped add to dullness of the jarred alfredo sauce. I will make again and experiment with more spices and homemade Alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This recipe was OK but there was hardly any sauce at all for the amount of noodles it called for. Next time I'm going to try doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This was one of the best recipes I've had in a long time. Chicken scampi is the ONLY thing I get at a "certain" restaurant. It was so nice to be able to make it at home. I used chicken broth instead of reserved water, and will make sure to add a bit more garlic next time. But all in all, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States